RSS Feed

Latest Purchases #63 – Sales Haul

Hello! Ian had to go back to work today so after having family to stay over Christmas and being away for a few days, it was today’s mission to pack away the Christmas decorations for another year, tidy up, put my presents away and make a huge pie to use up the last of our Christmas ham.

IMG_0973

I always feel a bit sad taking down the decorations that have made our home look so cosy and festive for the last month but it is nice to get things back to normal again and the pie is currently in the oven and smelling delicious!

Today I wanted to share a few bits I got in the sales. I have to say that I didn’t think they were that great this year and I generally feel a bit guilty about sales shopping so close to Christmas as I always receive so many lovely presents. But, I couldn’t resist a little peek.

On Boxing Day, I am usually still in my post-Christmas dinner coma and not a fan of elbowing my way through the bargains. However, my email inbox was pinging constantly with offers from different shops so I did a bit of online perusing with my old friend ASOS.

I always keep my eyes peeled for the ASOS skater dresses in the sales – I must have about 5 already but they wash well and are the perfect length and fit to wear for work. This bright pink one is a little different to any I already own and was a bargain.

DSCN0513 DSCN0516

I am seriously in love with this jumper. I do have a lot of stripes in my wardrobe but I fell for these gorgeous heart elbow patches.

DSCN0517 DSCN0518 DSCN0519

Some jewellery next…this pearl ring has a vintage look to it (although I struggled to get a decent photo!)

DSCN0523

I like these gold and black drop earrings and the little black chains swing nicely when you wear them.

DSCN0524

If I wear a statement necklace, I often wear stud earrings and this set of three are just my style.

DSCN0525 DSCN0528

I definitely do not need any more scarves but this chunky black snakeskin one was calling out to me.

IMG_0955 DSCN0530

Finally, I did find five minutes to pop to the shops this week for some essentials (black tights!) and found a few more must-have items.

This bright red coat is a classic design and you will definitely be able to spot me in a crowd!

DSCN0532

A little luxe item next. Faux fur is everywhere at the moment and this burgundy item (I’m not sure if it’s a scarf, a stole or just a wrap!) feels really luxurious and glamorous when worn and adds an instant fur collar to any coat.

DSCN0533

I love nightshirts for bed and this fleecy checked shirt is so snuggly and cosy. I will be pairing this with a pair of knee-high chunky socks until it gets warmer.

DSCN0534 DSCN0535

Last of all a gorgeous thick bobble hat which kept my head and ears warm on a very windy walk on New Year’s Day.

DSCN0536 IMG_0966 IMG_0968

Before I go, I had to share my New Year pie fresh out the oven…yum!

IMG_0981

Have you bought anything in the sales this year? x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a comment