RSS Feed

Why We’re Eloping

It is exactly two weeks today until our wedding in Las Vegas and to say we are getting excited is an understatement! I thought now would be a good time to share some of the reasons we decided to elope and my views on our whole wedding process.

I realise that what we are doing is not the norm, but I have been surprised at the positive reactions we have had and how many people have told me that they wish they had done it to avoid the months of stress and planning that they endured.

One of the main reasons for choosing to elope has been to take away all of the tension and worries that come with planning a wedding. I know some people would be in their element but I am very indecisive and a huge worrier so this would have caused me a lot of stress whereas I feel completely in control now.

stress

image from here

We both still have a week or so of work to go and then of course the task of packing and double checking we have all our documents, but apart from that we are pretty much ready to go. The only real decisions we have had to make have been the dates of the holiday, the hotels to stay at, the chapel to get married in and where to eat afterwards! It has surprised me how quick, easy and straightforward it has been and I haven’t lost a wink of sleep worrying about invitations, seating plans, napkin colours, menu choices, car hire etc

Our families have been really supportive about our decision which has been great too. I have seen horror stories online where people have been really nervous to tell their parents that they want to elope and I couldn’t imagine that! Who are these hideous, overbearing mothers who somehow feel like their child ‘owes’ them a wedding or who want to tell their child exactly how his or her wedding should be?! Ian and I are lucky in that our families are both able to travel with us and are over the moon with getting a holiday out of the whole affair! We are now at the age where we probably won’t have that many family holidays and it is really lovely to be going away with my parents and brother again.

Another matter is the cost. I think the average wedding is now said to cost around £22,000 and I just think this a huge waste of money! I have seen friends take out loans, get into debt and spend their savings on their wedding and then struggle for years to go on holiday, buy a house or treat themselves to other things like that. For me, it is a matter of priorities and those things I have mentioned are much more important to me and Ian than a wedding.

I think it is so easy to lose sight of what a wedding is all about and what starts off as a small, intimate gathering can soon turn into a circus with ice sculptures, photo booths and singing waitresses! I am firmly in the camp of ‘it’s only a day!’ and I would struggle to justify all the time, money and planning for what is effectively just a party.

The next point is a personal one and is probably the main reason behind our decision. I just don’t have the ‘bride gene’. I don’t like being the centre of attention with everyone looking at me, I find the first dance to be one of the most hideous and cringe-worthy moments of a wedding and it is just not something that I have ever dreamed of or fantasised about. That’s not to say that I am judging those who do. I have friends who love weddings and have pictured their perfect day since they were children, putting tea-towels on their heads as pretend veils, but that just isn’t me.

I realise that some of you reading this may wonder why Ian and I are bothering with a wedding at all but we both want to say those special words to each other and make that commitment. I know our day will be fun and relaxed, special and romantic and completely about us…and let’s face it, there is something very cool and rock ‘n’ roll about a Vegas wedding!

las-vegas-wedding-4

image from here

At the end of the day, I believe you just have to do what is right for you. While I have LOVED some of the weddings we have attended in the UK over the past few years, I have also known that they just weren’t for me, just like I realise that eloping would not be ideal for everyone.

I know we will look back on our special day as the most amazing holiday we have ever taken and I cannot wait for the next 10 years together! This passage sums up my feelings perfectly…

Marriage

image from here

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

6 responses »

  1. I think this is perfect! I would love to have a wedding here in the UK, but I know that mine will NOT be a circus- you’re right, a house, and a MARRIAGE are far more important than a wedding. At the end of the day, whatever is right for you is the right wedding! xx

    Reply
  2. Congratulations!!! My boyfriend and I just decided to elope in Vegas and last weekend we planned the whole thing. It’s a second marriage for both of us and we wanted to make it special, but also private. We picked the Aria and have planned some special meals/shows for the weekend to make it feel like it’s a little extra special. Originally, we wanted to do it on August 3rd and booked it up, but then we found out that we need to wait as he is here (America) on a work Visa and we need to return to the UK to get some things sorted before getting married. Technically we could get married now, but it would create a big mess with his company, so we are holding off until November. In keeping with a stress-free wedding, the Aria was awesome at letting us move around the date. It’s been great to plan something without worry and knowing that it’s going to be less expensive than the traditional weddings that we each had the first time around. We still need to tell our families. I think that they will be happy to not have us do a big wedding, but might be upset to not have invited. We want is just to be the two of us!

    Reply
    • Wow – a fellow Vegas bride! Thanks for your comment and congratulations on your wedding. We are less than 2 weeks away so it all feels very real now! I hope your family are OK with it – I will keep an eye on your blog to hear all about it. Hannah x

      Reply
      • Thanks, you too! Exciting isn’t it? We really had wanted to rush it, but now i am glad that we are waiting a bit. We will be in the UK for 6 or more weeks starting at the end of August, so there is loads to look forward to prior to the big day. Have a wonderful wedding and fun trip to Vegas!

  3. Pingback: Our Wedding Day 31.07.13 | hannahhotcakes

Leave a comment