RSS Feed

Tenerife

I love looking back at my travel posts and remembering little details I may have forgotten. For this reason, I wanted to write a short post on our 5 nights in Tenerife. It wasn’t the most jam-packed all-action holiday but we literally googled ‘hottest place in Europe in April’ and the Canary Islands kept coming up so we booked it a few weeks ago and looked forward to sun, good food and a chance to relax.

IMG_0709

We stayed in a little town called Puerto de la Cruz. I liked the fact that our hotel was right on the beach and that we could wander along the seafront at night watching the sunset and the waves. We managed to see the Semana Santa parade one evening too and indulged in a fish pedicure (Ian’s idea of hell!)

We did paddle on the black sands one afternoon but the current was so strong we didn’t wade in too far!

Our hotel itself was lovely. I was surprised at how lush the north of Tenerife was and we had an abundance of palm trees, plants and cacti in the grounds of the hotel – and loads of lizards running around too.

The food was wonderful – I got a bit obsessed with churros and Nutella for breakfast everyday, paella with clams for lunch then mojo sauce which is a garlicky, herby salsa that I liberally spooned over everything! We also had a Spanish cheeseboard every night as I am just not a fan of Spanish desserts.

One evening, we ate in the hotel’s a la carte restaurant where we enjoyed a great meal including a delicious duck dish.

One of my favourite places to hang out was our balcony. We had the sun on it in the late afternoon so we would sit out with a beer before dinner then again before we went to bed with candle lit, planning future holidays and putting the world to rights.

I still have a week off work so plan on using that time to read and get all those little jobs done that I keep putting off!

Happy Easter x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

