RSS Feed

Beauty Review – February Birchbox

I thought Spring was here today as I walked into Bath in the sunshine wearing a white shirt and my sunnies. Fast-forward a few hours and I was caught in torrential rain proving you can never trust the British weather! I did however find some time for a spot of shopping so it wasn’t a complete wash-out.

I loved the design of February’s Birchbox. I got the green leaf print box which is kind of the look and colour scheme I’m going for in our bedroom. Here was my first look inside:

First up, a shaving cream by Whish. I have tried another product by this brand (a coconut body lotion) and it both smelt lovely and was really moisturising so I am looking forward to using this.

img_0357

Next, a product by Beaver (snigger – yes, I’m a child). This is their Daily Moisture Conditioning Spray which will be perfect for me. Again, I have used some things from this brand before in previous Birchboxes and found them to be quite pleasant.

img_0358

I was really impressed by this next item – Rose Absolute First Serum by Aromatica. This is a Korean beauty item and I love trying these. They are said to be seven years ahead of the rest of the world in terms of beauty innovation and are responsible for such trends as sheet masks, serums, BB creams, cushion foundations and more recently essence waters. I am actually going to South Korea this summer and plan to buy a load of beauty bits to try out. This item is a rose serum and is a really generous size too.

img_0359

Next, an Eye Contour brush from Spectrum. This is super soft and is a beautiful white and rose gold design. I like Spectrum brushes – I use another of theirs for highlighter – and find they wash well and stay soft. I may use my Birchbox points to buy a few more of these.

img_0360

Finally, a POP Eye shadow Trio in Champagne Mocha. I was a bit unimpressed by this inclusion as I received an almost identical one from the same brand less than a year ago. The quality of the eye shadows aren’t great and they are quite crumbly so not great to travel with. This was my least favourite product this month.

img_0361

So, not a bad box this month. The serum and Spectrum brush were both excellent inclusions and also the items I am most excited about using.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

