RSS Feed

Travel Diaries – St. Petersburg

e34f5b1a-c2de-4dc2-a7e8-19fc36681479

I realised I never finished writing about the last two destinations on our Scandinavian mini-cruise this summer so today I wanted to share our day in St. Petersburg!

dc24c4e5-f487-4337-9460-8cad7b2acb32

We arrived at the port and made it through immigration before making our way into the city centre. It started out as quite a grey and drizzly day which felt almost fitting for Russia.

I knew a little of St. Petersburg’s history after reading The Siege but it is a huge city with so much to see. Given the limited time we had there and the weather, we decided to get on a hop-on-hop-off bus tour so we could see most of the highlights as well as hearing some history too.

My first impressions were not as I expected – it was a much prettier city with beautiful boulevards, grand buildings and fascinating history.

We got off the bus at the iconic Hermitage. This was a vast building with a huge square in front of it. We decided that we couldn’t do such a massive art museum justice by simply popping in for an hour so we admired the exterior before having a wander along the river.

Ian hates the ‘tat shops’ I always manage to find on holiday but I do love a good gift shop and we stumbled upon babushka gold.

The highlight of the day was visiting the Church of the Saviour of Spilled Blood. This was breathtaking inside with gold, marble and colours everywhere you looked.

After a good walk we decided some tea and cake were in order so we found a coffee shop on Nevsky Prospect (the main street of St. Petersburg) in an excellent people-watching position!

Having spent the day walking around quite a beautiful city, it was interesting to see how the buildings changed to a more stark and ‘Soviet’ style as we neared the port.

St. Petersburg was a fascinating city. Not high on my list of places to visit but I think that’s what made it even more special – I wasn’t expecting much so was pleasantly surprised by our day there.

 

 

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Looks like a lot of fun! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

