RSS Feed

Five Friday Favourites #1

Welcome to a brand new weekly feature! I like to mix this up every year as I tend to get bored of doing the same style of post for a whole year and having categories, such as fashion and food, can be a bit limiting at times.

So, I have decided to move my weekly summary-style post to a Friday and just post whatever things have floated my boat, whether they are food-related, a film I have seen or somewhere I have visited.

Healthy Eating and Meal Planning

These two kind of go hand in hand and I’m sure most people are trying to undo some of the gluttony of Christmas! I find meal planning so handy to ensure we eat healthily and don’t end up throwing anything away at the end of the week. My favourites this week include a cauliflower curry with brown rice, trout and couscous, lime and coriander chicken with giant cous cous, eggs and avocado, thai style seabass with brown rice and edamame stir fry and banana pancakes.

A new favourite eyeliner

I am in love with this Ciaté eyeliner that I received in my December Birchbox. The Fierce Flicks Eyeliner is a true black, lasts all day and the thin tip ensures perfect application. I would definitely repurchase this.

img_9068

Cross Stitch

I don’t do this very much but I feel I should as I find it so relaxing and I am always so pleased when I finish and have something to show for my efforts. I made this one for Ian as it is a joke we make a lot and I love how the flowers give it a kitsch, old-fashioned look. I have ordered a frame for it so just need to find the perfect place to display it.

img_9126

A Great Meal

We treated my parents to a meal at our favourite pub, The Longs Arms. I am yet to have a bad meal here and the food is always seasonal, sourced locally and packed full of flavour. I enjoyed a beetroot and cheese soufflé, brill in a lobster sauce and a scoop of Parma Violet ice cream.

A New Podcast

I have really enjoyed listening to Dawn O’Porter’s Get It On podcast. Each week she talks to a different guest about what clothes and style mean to them and I just find the relationship people have with clothes fascinating. I particularly enjoyed the chats with Dawn French, Dermot O’Leary and Edith Bowman.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

