RSS Feed

2017

img_9228Happy New Year! I hope you’re not nursing too sore a head after celebrating last night?! Ian and I started off having quite a chilled night in with an M&S meal deal and planned to pop up to the pub for a quick drink at midnight. Well, that quick drink soon escalated and we ended up wandering home at about 3am – I do love our village pub! I’ve managed to dodge a hangover but Ian is feeling a tad delicate today.

I used to start the New Year with a whole host of ‘New Year, New Me’ thoughts, only to beat myself up a few months later when I hadn’t managed to stick to my highly ambitious resolutions. I don’t think we need to start the year off trying to change who we are but rather make some small and manageable adjustments that will ultimately make us happier.

Reflecting on my resolutions from last year, I didn’t do too badly. I carried on going to the gym and actually managed to run a 5K for charity, I read a whole host of books and even joined a book club and I am slowly conquering my fear of needles by giving blood twice.

IMG_7356img_8115

I didn’t manage to master vlogging but I’m OK with that. I like writing and have seen how many hours editing videos can take and, to be frank, I just don’t have the time!

I also wanted to perfect an ideal work/ life balance but slowly came to realise that this is a constant juggling act and I don’t think anyone really knows how to do this!

So, in 2017 I plan to continue with giving blood, staying fit and healthy and reading more and the good things is, I know I can do these and they make me feel great.

IMG_6848

Additionally, I want to work on decluttering and having less ‘stuff’. I am getting better at giving things away to family and charity shops and I always feel great after a purge of unused things (my Mum is the ultimate minimalist and despairs at my hoarding at times!)

I also feel I have stopped cooking as much as I used to so I am determined to dust off my cookbooks and start experimenting in the kitchen again. I tend to find a set of quick and easy recipes to make through the week and stick to them so I want to mix things up a bit and try a few new dishes. I love cooking too so I know this is one change that will make me happier.

Have you made any resolutions for 2017? x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

