RSS Feed

Latest Purchases #103 – More Candles!

I am really into candles at the moment. I bought a few from Bath and Body Works on our trip to Boston and I love how cosy the living room looks with just the Christmas tree lights and a flickering candle. The scent it adds is lovely too and I do like to match my candles to the season so here are a few autumnal and festive ones I have been burning recently.

The most Christmassy one is this Peppermint Bark scented candle from TK Maxx. I got this as a present and think it is just beautiful. From the little gingerbread men on the box to the red, frosted glass jar, this is lovely. There is a strong candycane peppermint scent, but it is mixed with a creamy white chocolate note which stops it from being overly sweet. This was a nice alternative to the usual Christmas candles and quite refreshing.

Next, two large two-wick candles from B&M. I saw these popping up on various blogs recently with comparisons being made to Yankee and Bath and Body Works candles. There is no doubting the influence these have taken from the two bigger brands and I have to say they are great value for £2.99 each. They look great and even have the pretty embossed lids too.

Apple Orchard is a warm, cinnamon scent which reminds me of apple pie and the fruity scent does come through when it is burned.

I also picked up Radiant Red Maple which has quite a similar scent. I would say this is less fruity and more spicy, kind of like a chai latte – my all-time favourite drink. This has a strong cinnamon and nutmeg smell with an additional sweet creaminess.

It goes without saying that these aren’t quite as good quality as the Bath and Body Works ones. Only having two wicks means they don’t burn quite as evenly and the scent isn’t quite as powerful either. However, I wouldn’t turn my nose up at these and will definitely repurchase again.

From Dunelm, I bought a small Mulled Wine candle. This deep red candle smells of citrus, spices and berries and reminds me of warm cups of wine being sipped at Christmas markets. Being quite small, this doesn’t have the strongest scent but is a pleasant enough candle to burn.

Finally, not strictly a candle but I have been loving this oil burner. I bought it for Ian (he’s a fellow candle lover!) and it is a beautiful Himalayan pink salt candle. It gives off a lovely, warm glow and the little glass tray on top allows you to burn wax melts or use essential oils. I have been using this Frosted Cranberry fragrance oil from The Body Shop and it is a really nice sweet, berry scent which fills the room.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

