RSS Feed

Our Next Adventure…

This Christmas, both Ian and I were really keen on cutting down on ‘stuff’. You know, the kind of things you don’t really need more of…kitchen gadgets, novelty festive items, more nail varnish. Of course, there are some things I get every Christmas that are really useful and that I use all year such as smellies, good coffee, candles, books, pyjamas but Ian and I decided not to get each other anything to open under the tree this year. Instead, we decided to buy each other an adventure to look forward to in 2017.

So…we are going to Japan! (I am smiling just typing that!)

japan1

Yes, we are off next summer which gives me about 7 months to master using chopsticks! We are starting in Tokyo then visiting Mount Fuji on the famous Bullet Train.

japan4

After that (and the main reason we are visiting in July and August) we are going to the famous summer festivals that occur in Akita and Aomori. In Akita, we will see the Kanto Matsuri festival where the streets are lit up with ornate paper lanterns and performances and in Aomori we will see the Nebuta Matsuri festival which involves large parades of floats, traditional music and dancing.

Finally, we will stop in Busan, South Korea, a bustling port city with a huge seafood market, and then back to Nagasaki in Japan, where the atomic bomb was dropped, before ending up back in Tokyo to fly home.

We have ummed and ahhed about booking such a big trip for the past few months but then thought that we both work bloody hard and having a holiday like this gives you something to really look forward to. There’s also the knowledge that if/ when we have children, it will definitely put some of our travel plans on hold for a few years so we are both keen to travel as much as we can, whilst we can!

So, Merry Christmas – I hope you too get something wonderful to enjoy and that your day is filled with food, family and fun! x

 

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

