RSS Feed

Sunday Summary #46

Life

I have struggled with jet lag this week – going into work after two hours sleep was certainly interesting! I am back on UK time now although the darker mornings are making it harder to get up. We also had our first frost this week so the heating is officially allowed to be on!

img_8738

We started watching Going Clear, a fascinating documentary on Scientology. I am really interested in what makes someone dedicate themselves to cults and religions like this and this is a good insight given by ex-members.

We headed over to Bristol midweek to watch Ed Gamble’s stand-up show. He was really good live and, despite being knackered, we both really enjoyed it.

It was my school’s firework display on Friday and I roped my brother into coming and helping. It was freezing but such good fun and I love that smell of bonfire and fireworks.

This weekend, I was at a friend’s wedding. It was such a fun and special day and I spent most of it laughing with my colleagues.

img_8750

Food

After a very indulgent week of lobster, beer and doughnuts in Boston, we have tried to eat well with lots of greens. I have got quite into kale again too, making kale chips or lightly sautéing it with lots of salt and pepper.

img_8739

I bought this tea to try, having really enjoyed the Salted Caramel Green Tea that Twinings do. The Cherry Bakewell flavour isn’t quite as nice but it is still pleasant enough.

img_8736

We bought quite a bit of food in America (mainly sweets!) and have been working our way through it – the almond snickers are delicious.

img_8733

Fashion

I had a really disappointing delivery from Boohoo this week. I really want a camel-coloured coat and ordered a few to try on. I found the quality of them really poor and ended up sending all 5 back.

I remembered why I don’t wear heels this weekend after lasting less than an hour in them before changing into flats so I could dance properly at the wedding. I just think some girls aren’t made for heels and I’m definitely in that category.

Beauty

We didn’t really do anything for Halloween this year but I thought I would paint my nails black and orange to celebrate.

img_8723

I’ve been loving this hand lotion from Molton Brown. It smells lovely and I need something to help keep my hands soft as it gets colder.

img_8751

Finally, I have been using this shade (Bella Cappuccino) from Milani almost daily. It is a great base colour and I like the formula too.

img_8752

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

