RSS Feed

Beauty Review – October Birchbox

Another monthly treat to enjoy in the form of my October Birchbox. It seems they are sticking with the drawer format and I really look forward to seeing the design. This month was focused around star signs and seeing as I am a Leo, a fire sign, I received the FIRE box. It’s another fab design and I thought it was pretty cool that the stars on the box glow in the dark…did anyone else used to have the footprint stickers all over their ceiling that glowed in the dark?!

Onto the contents…

My first item was a Doux Me Spring Water Spray. I’m not joking when I saw that this is just a can of water. Yes, a can of water. I love facial spritzes but this is a joke! I also think the timing is odd…who needs a cooling face spray in October?! Not a great start.

img_8340

Another spray now from Oribe. Their Dry Texturizing Spray is well-loved but I don’t use hairspray or dry shampoo in my curls so sadly will have to pass this on.

img_8341

Something else for the hair from No4. This hair oil (with a really long name!) is much more up my street. Having coloured hair, I do use treatments to keep it from drying out so this hair oil will be a welcome addition.

img_8342

Next, a body cream from Rituals. I love the products from this brand (their foaming shower gel is my favourite!) and the cherry blossom scent sounds divine.

img_8343

I also received a matte lip crayon from Lord and Berry. I quite like their make-up and despite being a matte finish, this lip pencil is also quite creamy so doesn’t feel too drying on the lips. The colour is a lovely pinky-brown which I think is a great colour for autumn.

Finally, a very cheap-looking plastic eyebrow brush. I use these very rarely and this one does not scream quality at all.

img_8346

Overall I have to say I’m a little disappointed by this month’s box. The eyebrow brush and water spray are some of the worst items I have received in a Birchbox however the hair oil, lip pencil and body lotion are lovely. A friend of mine was so unimpressed with this month’s offerings that she is cancelling her subscription. I’m going to keep the faith for a little longer and hope this was just a poor month.

Despite not being completely enthralled by October’s box, I did discover that I had accumulated enough points to order a Nuxe Rêve de Miel which is a Holy Grail lip balm item that is constantly out of stock.

This will be my last post for a week or so as Ian and I are flying to Boston tomorrow for a week of sightseeing, lobster rolls and my first ever basketball game!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

