RSS Feed

Travel Diaries – Tallinn

I used to get the Lonely Planet magazine and I remember reading an article about Tallinn which really made me want to visit. Ian and I love a European city break but I never made it to the Estonian capital. I was therefore very happy to see that Tallinn was a stop on our mini-cruise this summer.

Sadly, my initial impressions were not great due to spending almost two hours queuing up in the arrivals hall. Passports checked, we set off on foot towards the city ready to explore in the sunshine.

Tallinn itself has an Old Town then a much newer, modern section. Seeing as we only had a day there, we explored the Old Town. While it was beautiful, it was very touristy meaning I couldn’t help but feel like I didn’t get a real taste of what Tallinn is like for locals.

The city itself isn’t huge and felt to me like a smaller, quainter Prague. You can easily do the place on foot and lose hours wandering along cobbled streets.

We began by passing the wonderfully named ‘Fat Margaret’ before entering the old city gates.

Armed only with a basic street map, we visited St Olaf’s Church, stumbled upon a sculpture garden and popped into small, artisan shops before pausing for a drink and a spot of people watching in the main square.

I ordered a local drink of honey beer which was delicious.

Next, we decided to brave a climb to the top of the hill where we visited the beautiful Orthodox Alexander Nevsky Cathedral and Toompea castle. The view over the city was stunning too.

We had time for one more drink before we left and Ian led us towards a brewery which looked like it would be great fun to visit at night.

It was a very short but sweet visit to Tallinn and it was definitely an interesting place. Part of me would like to return and spend a bit longer there exploring the rest of the city and some local cuisine. However, I do feel like we saw most of the older part of the city and, as pretty as it was, there didn’t seem to be an awful lot more to do there. A beautiful little city for a mini break and, who knows, maybe I will get to return one day and see a little bit more of it.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

