RSS Feed

Sunday Summary #38

Life

Well I’ve survived the first week of term with minimal side effects apart from a slightly hoarse voice and a few dark circles under the eyes! It has been a week of readjusting to huge to-do lists, early mornings, packed lunches and savouring the weekends.

Our driveway is now complete and I love it. It makes a real difference to the front of the house so I now need to get some nice pots and plants to add to the final look.

img_8069

We finished watching The Night Of and it really was one of the best dramas I’ve seen for a long time with such great actors (my favourite is the New York lawyer). We are going to start watching Stranger Things tonight and see if it was worth the hype.

My brother came over this weekend and we enjoyed watching Liverpool beat Leicester quite convincingly.

Finally, with a week to go I have set up a Just Giving page for the 5K Pretty Muddy run that I am attempting to do next weekend. I’ve never done anything like this before and am strangely nervous yet excited about it but if you did want to donate then the link is here.

Food

Our village pub ordered fish and chips on Friday night from the local takeaway so we went up to show our support.

I also couldn’t resist a box of Krispy Kremes even though the plain original glazed ones are my favourite!

img_8083

I love how food and drink can remind you of a holiday and Ian found an ale that we tried last year in Washington DC. This Sticky Toffee Pudding Ale is lovely and just the right amount of sweet.

img_8063

Beauty

I had my hair cut and coloured this weekend and asked for lots of white, cool-toned highlights. It never feels like ‘me’ when it’s straight so I couldn’t wait to wash it and release the curls again today!

img_8078

I’m not quite ready for the autumnal reds yet so decided to go for a bright, coral on my nails this week.

img_8079

Fashion

I picked up a pair of ‘ankle grazers’ in Primark this weekend which, being short, are pretty much the ideal length jean for me!

I’ve also embraced the embroidered trend with this beautiful t-shirt.

img_8093

I have been looking for a pinafore dress for ages and think I found one I like in New Look. I tried it on with a cropped top underneath but it was so hot in the changing rooms, I got all flustered and had to leave! Thinking of ordering it online to try it on at home.

Finally, not strictly fashion but something I will be ‘wearing’ for the next few months. Ian’s Mum knitted me a mermaid tail blanket which is the prettiest, cosiest item to keep warm inside as the temperature outside drops.

img_8067

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Congrats on making it through – good luck with the rest of term! : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

