RSS Feed

Sunday Summary #35

Life

It has been my last full week at home before I go back to work so I have been enjoying some fairly chilled out afternoons, cooking, reading and making the most of my last few lie-ins.

This weekend, despite being rather cold, grey and rainy (autumn anyone?!), has been really fun. Yesterday, I went for lunch then to watch Bristol City play…and sadly lose. Then Ian and I watched The Martian and forced ourselves to stay awake to cheer on Mo Farah – I’m going to miss the Olympics when they finish.

We finished watching the second series of Scandal and it just got so bad we have abandoned it and aren’t going to watch Series 3. A shame, as it started well but just got so far-fetched in the end. We have started watching a British drama called The Five and so far, it is gripping.

Today, we went for burgers then to watch the new David Brent film, Life on the Road. It was hilarious and moving in equal measure – the song lyrics especially make me cringe and laugh.

I am off on holiday next week with Ian and one of our best friends so have been busy researching things to do and see. We are doing a mini-Scandinavian cruise stopping off in Sweden, Estonia, Russia and Finland and I cannot wait!

We had some sad news this week too – our village pub, The Muddy Duck, which we go to on a weekly basis is closing down. We were gutted when we read the notice on the door and Ian was on about moving as we love having a good pub in the village! I’m hoping a buyer is found soon and it doesn’t have to close but I am so sad it is changing hands and have so many good foodie memories there.

Our new bed arrived this week and it’s copper! I think it looks beautiful and I will write up a mini room tour in a few weeks when our new furniture and accessories have arrived…copper and leaf prints will feature heavily.

IMG_7503

Finally, I listened to Nadiya Hussain’s Desert Island Discs (last year’s Bake Off winner) and it moved me to tears. I already loved her but hearing her talk about the struggles she faces as a British Muslim and how she deals with it in such a dignified way was very moving.

Food

Is it just me, or do you find a food that you love then eat nothing but that until you are sick of it?! Well, I have discovered this honey flavoured Greek yogurt and have had it with blueberries every morning for the past week and am so obsessed I have 4 more tubs of it in my fridge.

IMG_7540

Alongside the yogurt, I have also been having these rose and pineapple flavoured toasted sesame seeds my friend Lucie picked up for me at a food market. These seeds are delicious and really go with my new favourite breakfast.

Beauty

I had a big clear out of my nail varnish collection this week and blogged about it. I honestly thought most people had this many bottles too but a few comments on social media have alerted me I have a bit of a problem!

IMG_7507

I’m not usually that fussy with shower gels – I tend to pick something that smells nice but this one from Dove is lovely to use. It is so luxurious and creamy and my skin feels really soft and moisturised after using it.

IMG_7593

I had managed to rack up a fair few Birchbox point (little tip – always do the quick reviews online to add to your points total!) so bought myself another tube of Model Co More Brows. I love this stuff as it not only adds colour to my fair brows but also contains microfibers to fill in any gaps.

IMG_7592

Fashion

I blogged about my new summer sandals this week and have been wearing them all trying to decide which are the comfiest pair to take on holiday with me next week.

IMG_7542

I ordered some new rings this week. I flit between gold and silver jewellery and I love these chunky, silver cut-out rings.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

