RSS Feed

Beauty Review – August Birchbox

This month’s Birchbox arrived not in the usual cardboard box but encased within a cool grey make-up bag. It is made of the same material as scuba suits and I received the hot pink zip (there are four colour options). It’s a good sized bag but the pale colour and material does show every mark on it. I’ve had mine in my handbag for a week and it already looks a bit grubby.

IMG_7484

Onto the contents…

IMG_7491

Seeing as there was no box this month, the magazine was folded up inside the bag which I didn’t particularly like. There isn’t really a theme this month but everything is meant to have a summery twist.

One product I knew was coming was a Marcelle eyeliner in the shade Mulberry. I had preselected this purple shade and despite not knowing the brand, this seems a lovely deep, shimmery shade and is also waterproof.

IMG_7489

I have received so many Parlor items in Birchboxes and have to admit I’ve never really been blown away by them. This month I got a Volumizing Lifting Spray which doesn’t really seem very well suited to my hair type.

IMG_7488

I like the brand Anatomicals and am currently using a face wash from them. I received The Buff Stuff Citrus Body Scrub which smells amazing.

IMG_7486

Next, an item from Balance Me, another brand I like. This is the Radiance Face Mask. I am a little overloaded with face masks to try out after buying an Origins set but this clay-based one looks nice.

IMG_7490

A bit of a strange one next – an Anti-Bacterial Cleansing Gel from Merci Handy. I do use these but I have much nicer scents from Bath and Body Works which I stock up on every time I go to the States. This one smells very strongly of chemicals on the hand which makes me think it may be quite harsh on my skin. I’ve also found the design of the bottle means it can leak a bit – not a great product.

IMG_7487

Finally, a tiny sample from Nude. I received their Perfect Cleanse Omega Cleansing Jelly which sounds lovely but there’s no way you can get a good feel for a product from a sample this small.

IMG_7485

Overall, I’m quite unimpressed with this month’s Birchbox. None of the products really excite me that much and I think a few of them are pretty poor too. Hopefully September will be better!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

