RSS Feed

Latest Purchases #98 – A Homeware Haul

I have been hoarding some house-related purchases for a little while now so decided to put them all together in one homeware haul. I have lots of plans to finish off or add to rooms around the house now I have some time off this summer and these items will fit in well.

First up, a few items from the website dotcomgiftshop. They have the most amazing sales and I always end up getting a variety of things for myself, school and birthday presents.

I got a couple of sets of these soy candles; one in the scent ‘Olive Verbena’ and the other in ‘Seville Orange and Nutmeg’. The packaging is really pretty and I am going to keep one set and give the others away as gifts. I prefer the green one as it is slightly fresher but the orange one is a lovely autumn/ winter scent.

IMG_7165 IMG_7166

I always stock up on cards in this sale and I got some ‘Happy Birthday’ and ‘Thank You’ sets which are always handy to have.

IMG_7160 IMG_7161

Next, one for the teachers! I find myself always needing little items to use for prizes and these medals, mug, mirror and straws were something like 50p each.

IMG_7159

I also got myself another mug with this pretty print on.

IMG_7157

Some twine for the garden…I’m getting old!

IMG_7162

Is it too soon to start mentioning the C word?! I needed a new wreath for our door and there is nothing more festive than the sound of bells every time the door opens!

IMG_7156

I wanted a large salad bowl and I really liked this print.

IMG_7154 IMG_7155

I also bought my Dad an enamel mixing bowl as he is always dropping hints that he likes mine!

IMG_7153

We are off to celebrate the 2nd birthday of our friends’ little girl soon and I have a thing for vintage-looking wooden toys. I bought her this mini wooden cooking set with a matching apron for her birthday.

IMG_7152

I bought four of these huge storage bag to use instead of bin bags in the loft. I think they will be really useful for storing Christmas decorations and our camping stuff which we only use once or twice a year.

IMG_7151

Next up, some items from Home Bargains which is such a cheap shop! I picked up some notebooks from there for next term and love all three of these prints.

IMG_7148

I also received this wonderful handmade London Underground fabric notebook cover from a very talented colleague…I think I am all set for notebooks for the next year or so!

IMG_7149

I am notorious for losing lunchboxes and thought this red and floral one would stand out enough for me not to forget it.

IMG_7147

I popped into Tiger in Bath recently and fell in love with this gold wine rack. I haven’t decided where to store it yet although I am thinking it will look beautiful on our drinks cart.

IMG_7146

I picked up a few items in the recent Next sale. Firstly, this monogrammed room diffuser. I don’t usually think these are that amazing but this looks so nice that I don’t mind.

IMG_7143 IMG_7144

I’m also trying to curate a gallery wall for our kitchen. I want the pictures to be quite colourful so this David Bowie print should look good as well as being a little tribute to the great man.

IMG_7145

Finally, I thought I would include a gift I received from one of my colleagues. I got this pretty copper candle holder with a Peach Smoothie Yankee Candle inside. One of bedrooms has a lot of copper accents so it will fit in perfectly there.

IMG_7150

Ian will be so happy I have finally written this post so I can put these items away instead of keeping them in boxes around the house! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

