RSS Feed

Book Corner – Latest Reads July 2016

I’ve finished another three books so here are my thoughts on them:

Before I Go to Sleep by S J Watson

IMG_5903

This thriller was a gripping read. Centred around a woman who loses her memory overnight, it follows Christine as she wakes up confused and tries to piece together her life every morning. She begins to keep a journal behind her husband’s back and the reader is never quite sure whether or not her husband can be trusted. Although slightly disjointed and repetitive in places, I did enjoy this and loved the twist at the end. This is very similar to other female-based psychological thrillers like Gone Girl and Girl on the Train so if you liked those then you will really enjoy this.

Only We Know by Karen Perry

IMG_6309

I read this for my book group and did enjoy it. Set in Kenya and Dublin, the book follows the lives of three grown-up childhood friends who are living with the secret of something terrible that happened in Africa until events bring them back to the scene of the crime. I found out after reading this that ‘Karen Perry’ is actually a writing duo which I find a fascinating writing process. They each write a chapter independently from a character’s point of view and then send it to the other for them to continue. I’m not sure who wrote what but I definitely identified more with the female character in this novel and struggled to understand the male ones. I actually guessed the twist that comes near the end of the book but it didn’t ruin it for me. The idea behind this book was excellent and although it took a little while to get moving, I feel it was quite well executed.

The Bookseller of Kabul by Asne Seierstad

IMG_6980

Not a story per se but a collection of mini tales about one family’s lives observed by a journalist. I absolutely loved this book and really enjoyed the insights into daily life in Afghanistan. I do have quite an interest in Afghan literature, having read quite a few books set there or by Afghan writers, and this is part-history book part-story as it documents life before, during and after the Taliban through weddings, daily life and work. You cannot help but feel shocked and saddened at the lowly role of women throughout the book as well as empathetic to Afghans who have seen their country undergo brutal regime changes. There is no happy ending here but this journalist managed to give a fascinating insight to daily life in a country that is still detached from the rest of the world. One of the best books I have read this year.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. I haven’t read this but I remember being very creeped out by the film.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

