RSS Feed

Sunday Summary #29

Life

IMG_6945

I haven’t felt brilliant this week if I’m being honest – sluggish, unmotivated and a bit moany. I’m trying to focus on the fact that school holidays are two weeks away and I am filling up my diary with lots of fun things to look forward to. I also went on a really motivational course on Friday which has refocused things at work too.

I spent the weekend with my best friends which always puts me in a better mood. We met the newest member of our gang and had a good catch up over pizza and ice-cream!

IMG_6970

It’s my brother’s birthday today too so we are heading out to theirs later on tonight to watch the football and enjoy a roast dinner and hopefully some birthday cake too.

I sat in the sun for an hour or so this afternoon and read the first few chapters of The Bookseller of Kabul. It is really interesting so far.

IMG_6980

Food

I’m trying to start the day healthily and am still enjoying experimenting with overnight oats – my current favourite includes fresh raspberries and mango, flax seeds and a handful of tropical trail mix.

IMG_6946

We continue to obsess over the ‘Spirit of Summer’ range from M&S and this week enjoyed a selection of their snacks for dinner one night.

IMG_6948

In an attempt to get me out of my funk, we went to The Longs Arms for dinner – one of my favourite places to eat. The food is divine and all ingredients are ethically and, where possible, locally sourced. I enjoyed a cheese soufflé to start, lamb for my main and a scoop of Turkish Delight and Parma Violet ice-cream for dessert.

IMG_6961

Ian tried the Marmite ice-cream…definitely a love/ hate thing!

IMG_6960

Finally, we had a lovely brunch in Bill’s this morning before waving goodbye to my friend Lucie as she headed back to London.

IMG_6979

Beauty

My new Birchbox arrived this week. After a few fairly average boxes I was debating whether to continue but this one is the best I’ve had for a little while…review to follow!

IMG_6981

I thought I would also give a quick shout out to Mikhila who posted about this amazing Origins kit where you can buy £84-worth of Origins products for just £20. I love this brand and ordered mine straightaway!

Fashion

Let’s start off with a fashion fail…

IMG_6951

I’m having a bit of a moment with star prints, having bought a long-sleeved t-shirt and a cardigan with them on. I just think it’s a really fun print and makes me happy when I wear them.

IMG_6909 IMG_6910

Have a great week and let’s hope the weather realises it’s now July and we actually get a few sunny days to enjoy!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Love the star print shirts 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

