RSS Feed

Sunday Summary #28

Life

The political craziness shows no signs of slowing down here in the UK and I for one am growing increasingly weary of it. If any of the major parties’ aim is to engage young people in politics then they are all sorely failing. Onto happier things…

We’ve had a lovely weekend so far. I had my braces changed on Saturday and am now rocking turquoise bands. I figure that train tracks don’t look nice anyway so you may as well have a bit of fun with them! Afterwards, I indulged in a spot of shopping then met Ian for lunch in the sun.

Today, we went to Frome Independent, my favourite market which combines food and vintage with live music too. I bought some of my favourite chai syrup and a huge painting of John Wayne…standard!

I gave blood this week which was terrifying for me but rewarding. I’m currently nagging Ian to sign up but if you want to donate too click here.

IMG_6848

I feel like I haven’t stopped laughing this week too. Firstly at my Mum getting a completely unsubtle selfie with Judy Murray at Wimbledon and then again at Ian after he was attacked by a crow that has been stalking us all week and has taken an apparent liking to him!

My favourite comedy show, Murder in Successville, continued this week with Chris Kamara making an appearance.

IMG_6857

It has been really chilly in the evenings here (hello July!) so in an attempt to feel cosy, we have been burning a new candle. I bought Ian this Spiced Rum one from Forestlands and it has a lovely scent that fills the room.

Finally, quite a dull one but I have been loving these Scent Boosters from Lenor. Nobody likes doing laundry but these do smell amazing.

IMG_6863

Food

After a long week, I treated myself to a Macdonald frappe – very indulgent but just what I needed on a Friday night.

IMG_6862

We tried out a new pizza restaurant this weekend: The Oven. This offers delicious wood-fired pizzas and we were lucky enough to eat these al fresco. I wasn’t overwhelmed by the choices available but the two we had were delicious.

IMG_6872

I also bought some tasty fruit and veg from a local market which reminded me that I shouldn’t rely on the supermarket so much.

Finally, I bought some more items from M&S’ ‘Spirit of Summer’ range – some fiery sweets and some tartlets. Everything I have tried has been great so I hope some of the items become permanent.

Beauty

I reviewed June’s Birchbox on my blog this week and have been loving this jar of Jelly Pong Pong lip and cheek pigment for a splash of colour.

IMG_6855

I also love my nails this week – a bit fiddly but I like the clash of pastel pink and bright red.

IMG_6936

Fashion

I will be doing a full blog post on these items this week, but I picked up a few bits in Primark. I bought two Ramones T-shirts which I love. I usually find buying band t-shirts on the high street a bit try-hard but I have loved this band since I was a teen (even dragging Ian across New York to CBGBs just to see where they used to play!) so these were a real find for me.

I’m having another moment with midi-rings and this set was only £1.50 for four…although they may turn my fingers green!

IMG_6935.JPG

We’re off to a pub quiz now – have a great week!

 

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Hi I love your blog. The forestlands deer candle is cute, can I ask what store you got it from? Thanks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

