RSS Feed

Beauty Review – June Birchbox

Good evening. I’m sat on the sofa, munching on an almond Magnum and feeling a bit sorry for myself after giving blood this afternoon. I have an unexplainable and completely ridiculous fear of needles that I am determined to overcome, kind of like those people who go to zoos and hold snakes to get over their phobia. I ended up bursting into tears twice during the whole process and am so annoyed at myself as it doesn’t hurt and it’s for such a good reason that I just shouldn’t get so upset!

IMG_6848

To take my mind off things, here is my June Birchbox review…just in the nick of time before we get to July!

First things first, the box itself (which may just be my favourite yet!) It has a little sliding drawer with a gorgeous tropical pineapple print and I will definitely be using this again. However, it is all about the products inside…

IMG_6851

First up, a little pot of face scrub from Huygens. I haven’t heard of this brand but I do usually like French skincare and although this is a scrub, it feels very gentle and creamy so shouldn’t be too harsh.

IMG_6852

Next, a coconut oil body cream by Whish. I always take these little tubes away with me when I travel and I love anything coconut scented. This summery cream smells amazing…a bit like Malibu!

IMG_6853

A hair product next – Percy and Reed’s Reassuringly Firm Session Hold Hairspray. I don’t use hairspray so this one is wasted on me.

IMG_6854

I received an Absolution item next which is a brand Birchbox seem to include a lot. I’ve never been wowed by one of their products but I will give this chamomile and oat face wash a go.

IMG_6855

Finally, my favourite item – a pigment pot from Jelly Pong Pong in the shade Fig Jam. This lip and cheek cream smells amazing and is a bright and vibrant pink colour. I was amazed at the pigmentation this has and it is really easy to build up the colour. It also felt very moisturising on my lips – I haven’t tried it on my cheeks yet.

Overall, not a bad box but two face washes seem a bit too similar – also, I’m not sure why the usual six items weren’t included?! I’m intrigued to see the items included in July’s box as I find the summer Birchbox deliveries are usually really good.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

Leave a Reply

