RSS Feed

Sunday Summary #27

Life

What a week it has been. I don’t feel I can move onto all the good stuff without addressing what I feel was the disastrous outcome of the referendum. For various reasons, I voted to remain as part of Europe and feel absolutely devastated at the results. I still cannot quite believe this happened and am so sad at the hatred and anti-immigrant feelings that have been provoked. I do believe in democracy but I also feel that a lot people who voted ‘out’ did so for the wrong reasons having been misinformed as to what exactly their vote would mean. I could go on but I am really struggling to understand how we are at this place and the effects it will have on future generations.

Anyway, onto the positives of the week…

I rushed home from Pilates on Monday only to be thoroughly bored by England’s performance. I hope we manage to win against Iceland tomorrow but I fear that is probably as far as we will get in this competition…happy to be proved wrong though!

IMG_6774

Onto some TV that was anything but boring…Game of Thrones was absolutely incredible this week. Not only was the story captivating but the cinematography was stunning and I have rewatched the battle scene a further three times!

I finished Only We Know and went to my first book club meet at the local pub this week. It was great fun to discuss the read over a glass of wine and we’ve chosen two titles to read over the summer which I must download to my Kindle soon.

Finally, I have to share the beautiful roses from my garden…they smelled amazing too!

IMG_6760

Food

It has been a really busy week at work so although I had to skip a few gym visits, I’ve managed to keep my food pretty healthy.

Two snacks I am really enjoying at the moment are dried mango pieces and padron peppers – one for when I need something sweet and the other for when I am craving something flavoursome and salty.

I also made a huge bowl of Eton mess to use up some very ripe strawberries – summer in a bowl!

IMG_6796

We popped for a midweek dinner at The Seven Stars in a nearby village and it was nice to enjoy a few cold beers outside before we ate. The meal itself was fine but not as nice as the previous time we visited which is always a shame.

Finally, for my best friend Lu’s birthday this weekend, we went for a bottomless champagne brunch at brace&browns in Bristol yesterday. We munched our way through bubble and squeak, pulled pork, pancakes and avocado toasts plus a fair few glasses of bubbly. It was really tasty and definitely a weekend treat.

Beauty

Some weeks I really struggle to find beauty and fashion items but this week I had loads of options.

First up, a new cleansing balm: the Camomile Sumptuous Cleansing Butter from The Body Shop. I have to say that I do prefer a pump bottle for my cleanser but this stuff is fab and removes all traces of make-up easily.

IMG_6789

Ian bought me the next item: Lush’s R&B Hair Moisturiser after a recommendation from a curly-haired girl he works with. This smells amazing and leaves my hair really soft as well as controlling frizz. After applying a bit too much the first time I used this, I realised you only need a tiny bit so this should last me a while.

IMG_6790

I’m feeling a bit delicate today and committed the cardinal sin of going to bed without taking my make-up off last night so I decided to ‘undo’ this with a brightening sheet mask. This one from Tony Moly left my skin feeling refreshed and moisturised.

IMG_6829

Finally, a luxury bath product: Black Iris Bath Oil from Emma Bridgewater. This smells incredible and has left my skin soft and perfumed – a good Sunday night treat.

IMG_6830

Fashion

You know I love an anchor print and my Mum came back from a recent trip to New York with this gorgeous scarf for me – thanks! x

IMG_6832.JPG

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

