RSS Feed

Sunday Summary #26

Life

It has been a good week in these parts. I’ve been loving the Euros, especially England’s win against Wales!

Ian and I had a midweek night out to watch Sara Pascoe on her stand-up tour. She was excellent and I really want to buy her book now which takes a look at the female body and the politics behind its representation.

This weekend, it was our village fete. We love where we live and being part of a little community so we did our part by running the bottle stall. We even won a bottle of local gin in the raffle.

My parents stayed with us this weekend and so to celebrate Father’s Day today, I treated us all to cocktails and lunch in Bath. We went to Las Iguanas and everything was really tasty, especially the huge chunk of cheesecake I had for my pudding!

Apart from watching football most evenings, we’ve also enjoyed Gogglesprogs, New Blood (a BBC drama) and I was so happy the new series of Murder in Successville is back – it’s one of the funniest things I have watched in a long time.

Finally, I’m off to my first Book Club meet this week at the local pub to discuss Only We Know. I have a few chapters left but also have the responsibility of choosing the next book we read – no pressure!

Food

We’ve carried on our healthy stint and have been having lots of salads and veggies.

We did eat at Turtle Bay midweek and I had a pulled pork burger with a few mojitos. It wasn’t the best burger I’ve ever had but it was tasty. We also went to Sundaes ice cream parlour where I was a bit overwhelmed by the amazing choice they had but eventually settled on Kinder Bueno ice cream while Ian had Eton Mess.

My Dad has recently turned his hand to cheese making and brought up some homemade goats cheese which is delicious.

IMG_6734

Finally, I have been enjoying a spoonful of nut butter in my morning oats and this huge jar should keep me going for a while!

IMG_6725

Beauty

My first beauty love this week is the Nails Inc set I blogged about. I loved the two shades I’ve tried out so far and am looking forward to having a play with the rest.

I trialled a new eyebrow pen from Kiko which is part eyebrow pen and part highlighter to add some glow under the brow bone. I think it is ever so slightly too dark for me and I still needed to brush it through afterwards but it’s a nice product.

Finally, I got a bit excited when I saw my new favourite serum in stock in Superdrug today so bought six! They’re not all for me but it also means I definitely won’t run out for a while!

IMG_6761

Fashion

A bit of a throwback moment today as I wore one of those stretchy chokers I was obsessed with when I was about 15!

IMG_6755

And another accessory…I picked up this coral-red bandana in Primark today and plan to experiment wearing it both in my hair and round my neck.

IMG_6762

 

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

