RSS Feed

Sunday Summary #25

Life

Hello and happy grey and drizzly Sunday! After a lovely warm week, it is business as usual here. We’ve had a very chilled but productive weekend. I tackled loads of little jobs I have been putting off such as booking our hotel for Boston, arranging a quote for new carpets and buying some more plants.

The Euros started this week and, apart from the usual minority of English fans making me absolutely ashamed to be in the competition, I’m excited! We watched the first England match last night at my brother’s and he made the most delicious lasagne to enjoy with it.

After a few rather indulgent weeks, Ian and I are on a bit of a health kick which means I’ve upped my weekly gym visits, cut out the crap food and I have to say I feel really good for it.

I’ve been loving Snapchat lately and really enjoy checking the daily filters and watching other people’s updates. I even filmed a mini recipe for my overnight oats on there. I am ‘hannahruthduffy’ if you want to add me!

Finally, I have my Mum, Dad, brother and best friend’s birthdays in the next month and have been hit with really good present inspiration so had a mini online flurry of present-buying last night – it felt good!

Food

As you can see, it’s been rather healthy this week. I’ve made us overnight oats for breakfast everyday this week and forgot just how tasty they can be. I try to vary the toppings, fruit and milk I use but my current favourite recipe is: oats, almond milk, chia seeds, frozen mango, almond butter, flax seeds, fresh pomegranate seeds and some almonds…yum!

My new favourite discovery is cauliflower steaks. Slightly charred in the pan then covered in a lemon and garlic drizzle it’s *almost* as good as the real thing.

Another tasty snack is brown rice cakes with almond butter slathered on top – anything to stop me reaching for the biscuit tin.

IMG_6680

It wasn’t all healthy though…these mini croissants (one chocolate, one almond, one apricot) are my favourite way to start the weekend.

IMG_6667

Beauty

My nails were looking a bit worse for wear when I removed my nail varnish this week so I have had a week of bare nails (hence why there was no ‘Mani Monday’ post last week) and have been rubbing on this cuticle cream by Burt’s Bees every night – it’s lovely stuff.

IMG_6639

My skin has been so dry this week so I have used my favourite face mask a couple of times. I love that it doesn’t harden or make your face tight – most of it is absorbed by the skin so you just have to cleanse any remnants away and my skin feels so plump afterwards.

IMG_4929

On the subject of face masks, I ordered some Tony Moly sheet masks and tried my first one this morning. First impressions were good and I’ll write a blog post about them soon – they do, however look terrifying on!

In an attempt to keep my blonde hair cool-toned and avoid any brassiness, I bought this purple shampoo set. I used them yesterday and do feel the shampoo made a difference.

IMG_6669

Fashion

I popped into Matalan for a replacement pair of leggings on Friday and came away with a rather full bag! Not somewhere I shop often, they had some great patterned trousers and the most perfectly fitting floaty cami tops that I bought in four different colours!

IMG_6691

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

