RSS Feed

Latest Purchases #96 – A Holiday Haul

As you may have noticed in recent months, my blog posts have become a little more sporadic. This is mainly down to work being busy and going to the gym for an hour or so most evenings. Basically, something had to give and sadly it was my blog. However, over half term I managed to get back in the swing of posting on an almost daily basis and I am going to try and keep this up now that I am back at work. I have a bit of a backlog of posts so today am starting with a little holiday haul from our trip to the Caribbean at Easter…yes, I have been hoarding this little pile since then!

First up is a piece of crockery I picked up at a little market in Mexico. It is modelled on a traditional guacamole bowl with the three little legs underneath and I love the bright chili design which has a bit of glitter going through it too.

Next, also from Mexico are these traditional blankets. They are so thick that I guess you could use them as a rug too but I will be using them as a throw on my sofa.

IMG_6314

Ian made a little purchase from Mexico too in the form of four bottles of hot sauce. I am such a wimp when it comes to spicy food but these are a great way for Ian to add a bit of spice to his food without making the whole dish super hot.

IMG_6318

In Cuba, we went on a little rum tasting excursion and loved this Legendario rum. It’s a dark but sweet rum that actually tastes great alone or as a mixer in something like a dark and stormy cocktail.

IMG_6319

Whilst in Havana Ian also bought a box of Cohiba cigars. I’ll be honest, it was a bit of a dodgy deal but he assures me these are the best!

Finally, you just can’t go to Mexico and not buy tequila and we actually bought a small bottle of both tequila and mescal complete with the gusano in the bottom! We’ve been perfecting our margarita recipe with them – I think I’ll share it on the blog soon.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

