RSS Feed

Beauty Review – May Birchbox

Yeah, slightly late with this one but hey!

May’s Birchbox was named ‘For the Dreamers’ and was all about your dream be it a holiday or the perfect nude lip colour.

IMG_6374

You may notice the box is silver coated. It actually has that scratchcard stuff on it, allowing you to scratch the surface away to see if you’ve won a holiday. I’m sorry Birchbox but this is a horrible idea! I spend way too much time on my nails to scratch that stuff off and who wants bits of silver all over the floor?!

Anyway, awful box aside, inside was the usual assortment of beauty treats.

IMG_6376

First up, Spectrum Collections Unicorn Tears Wonder Sponge…yeah, it’s a Beauty Blender! I really like Spectrum brushes and this make-up sponge is nice too. It’s a little tougher and more rigid than a Beauty Blender but I am a fan of applying my foundation with these sponges so this is a good back-up for when my current one has had it. I also like the little plastic pouch it comes in.

IMG_6377

Next, a tube of PK Prep Polishing Balm by Philip Kingsley. I LOVE their Elasticizer so am keen to try this hair product designed to smooth frizz. It doesn’t seem formulated for curly hair which is a bit annoying but I do wear my hair straight sometimes so will give this a go.

IMG_6378

I also received a pot of Puriskin’s Resurfacing Cream. It sounds quite a harsh product but is actually a very thick and nourishing moisturiser.

In my opinion you can’t go wrong with adding a black mascara to a beauty box and this tube from Eyeko looks interesting. Firstly it isn’t in traditional packaging and the wand is heavily curved. This is meant to give you perfectly curled lashes and I have to say it is quite effective. I’ve just had my lashes lifted though so any mascara gives this effect but I would repurchase this.

IMG_6612

Next, some Ole Henriksen face wipes. I know some beauty bloggers think these are the devil’s work but on occasion, we all reach for a face wipe. For me, it’s either when I’m travelling or I’ve had a bit too much to drink and the thought of double cleansing seems too much! I’ve heard good things about this brand so will pop these in my make-up bag.

IMG_6380

The final item should have been a Givenchy perfume sample but sadly mine was missing in the box! However, I have found Birchbox to have great customer service so I’m awaiting my replacement.

Overall, a pretty average box this month with my favourite item definitely being the mascara.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Great post! That mascara looks amazing. Even though you were late with this review, I haven’t see this one done before! Hope you get your hands on the perfume soon xx

    http://www.lexilife95.com & https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjf_Yy-CZV0Tq9EgU2RG9Jw

    Reply

Leave a Reply

