RSS Feed

Sunday Summary #21

Life

It has been a good week! Firstly, we booked our flights and AirBNB for Berlin in a couple of weeks’ time. I have been well and truly bitten by the travel bug recently and plan to get into double figures for countries visited this year. We spent this morning in bed with tea looking at Berlin beer gardens and museums to visit and I cannot wait for a few nights away with Ian.

I also went to the theatre this week to watch a friend perform in Sister Act. I didn’t really know anything about this show before I went (it’s very different from the film) but the gospel-style songs were incredible and it’s a really funny musical. I went with my work colleagues and it was a much deserved break from SATs!

We haven’t really watched too much on TV this week but have been ploughing on with House of Cards on Netflix. It’s such a good series and my knowledge of American politics is expanding with every episode. I also watched the film ‘True Story’ this weekend but found it a bit dull in places.

I finished reading ‘Before I Go to Sleep’ and have just started ‘Only We Know’ for my new book group. It feels slightly strange to not just be reading for my own enjoyment but it has started well and I hope I enjoy it.

IMG_6309

Finally, it was lovely to see these two guests in our garden last night!

IMG_6301

Food

I am back to eating soft food again after having my braces tightened yesterday but before that we enjoyed dinner and beer garden drinks with my brother and his girlfriend at our local pub, The Muddy Duck, after work on Friday. They do a lovely selection of craft beers and I then had the most delicious lamb dish with new season asparagus.

Yesterday, Ian and I popped into Bath and enjoyed some drinks and lunch in the sun. We had tequila  cocktails, starters of chicken wings and smoked cheese bites then some delicious fish tacos that I enjoyed so much I am making them for dinner tonight too.

Beauty

Ian loves anything bubblegum scented (such a big kid!) so I bought him this shower gel as a joke but it’s actually really nice, if a tad sickly.

IMG_6303

I’m suffering from quite dry skin at the moment so picked up this body moisturiser by Elizabeth Arden. It isn’t too heavy and sinks in quickly with a pleasant smell.

IMG_6305

Finally, a duo that has been helping to give me a dewy yet sun-kissed look: my Sephora bronzer in Aruba and this rose-gold No7 Skin Illuminator which I have been using as a cream highlighter.

Fashion

I repurchased my favourite ever sports bra by Shock Absorber in a cool electric blue and pink print. I have tried on so many recently but none seem to give enough support for us ladies with a bit more of a bust. This one is really comfortable and keeps everything in place when running.

IMG_6304

I am on the hunt for a new gym bag and this star and tan print one is currently in the lead – it’s maybe a little too nice for my sweaty trainers though!

IMG_6278

 

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

