RSS Feed

Sunday Summary #19 and #20

Life

These weekly updates are fast becoming fortnightly ones but my weekends have been so full lately, I run out of time to write a blog post! I have just finished our first BBQ of the year (high five!) and have nipped inside for a break from the sun and a cuppa before heading out to a pub quiz later tonight…summery evenings for the win!

The main reason I couldn’t write last week was that I was in the south of France on one of my best friend’s hen weekends. We stayed in a stunning villa just outside Aix-en-Provence and it was a lovely weekend full of champagne, beautiful views and lots of giggles.

This weekend was just as busy, celebrating my friend Hannah’s birthday with a pub lunch, a trip to an animal farm then birthday cake in the garden followed by pizzas and Jurassic World – Happy Birthday Hannah!

My friend Lucie stayed over last night so today we drove into Bath with the roof down (such a summer cliché!) and had a wander around the shops buying sandals and some treats from Kiko. I think I also found my holy grail jeans in Topshop!

On TV, we have been glued to the new series of Game of Thrones and also the finale of Line of Duty. I was also over the moon to see Liverpool get to the final of the Europa League!

I am back at the gym and trying to focus on building up my stamina for running again. I’ve discovered that if I don’t go regularly, I go right back to square one and I have the added incentive of a 5km Pretty Mudder race that I’ve signed up for with friends in September.

Finally, I finished Before I Go To Sleep on the plane but am yet to pick up my next book – any recommendations?

Food

Well, we couldn’t go to France and not overdose on cheese could we?! We had the most delicious platters of cheese and ham to enjoy whilst at the villas as well as lots of macarons.

We went out for lunch yesterday and I had a huge portion of mac and cheese which was served with pulled pork – so tasty.

IMG_6211

I also made a huge bowl of my giant cous cous salad which is packed full of pine nuts, pomegranate seeds, feta and roasted tomatoes.

IMG_6204

Beauty

After swearing never to rock the ‘wet-look-yet-crunchy’curls again, I decided to give mousse another try and I have to say I’m pleasantly surprised. It’s not quite a Holy Grail product for me but this stuff had a good amount of hold and no crunchiness at all!

IMG_6014

My friend bought me a bottle of The Body Shop’s Sweet Almond Oil Nail Varnish Remover and it is lovely stuff. It feels so much less harsh on your nails than ordinary nail varnish remover and smells better too.

IMG_6243

On my way home from France, I used the last of my euros to get one of my favourite cleansers from Nuxe. It smells of roses and does a great job in removing make-up.

IMG_6244

On the subject of cleansers, I am currently using this one from First Aid Beauty. It has quite a creamy consistency but is pleasant to use. I’ve liked everything I’ve tried from this brand so far.

IMG_6245

Fashion

I have been wearing my black fedora non-stop lately. I think it gives instant cool to an outfit and is a lifesaver at hiding a bad hair day. I’ve recently bought a camel-coloured version which I think is a lot more summery.

IMG_6200

I picked up a pair of Topshop’s Lucas jeans today and they are perfect. Described as ‘fitted boyfriend jeans’, they are so soft and fit me really well.

IMG_6232

 

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

