RSS Feed

Beauty Review – April Birchbox

I think this month’s Birchbox may be the prettiest yet! Partnering with Rifle Paper Company was always going to produce something lovely, but I adore the beautiful floral design on this box and I even used some of my Birchbox points to get two notebooks in equally pretty prints. I just can’t resist attractive stationary!

I was hoping the inside of the box would be as good…

First up is this foot cream by Kueshi. This is a new brand to me  but it smells good and I do use foot cream most nights.

IMG_6026

Next, a cult product in the form of a mini bottle of Nuxe Huile Prodigieuse. This is meant to be good stuff, adding hydration and a glow to face, body and hair – I cannot wait to try this as a full-size bottle is quite pricy.

IMG_6028

I have received a couple Parlor products via Birchbox and this Detangling Leave-in Conditioner sounds lovely. I use leave-in conditioners regularly but they can weigh my curls down so a spray version sounds perfect!

IMG_6029

Next, a black eyeliner from Cynthia Rowley. This is a creamy formula that gives a true black line and it has excellent staying power. I’m a liquid eyeliner gal so I may pass this one onto my Mum.

IMG_6030

Finally, Dew the Hoola from Benefit. I admit I had no idea what this was when I opened the box but have since discovered it is the liquid version of the Hoola bronzer. I’m not sure about this product. It doesn’t have a shimmer and is creamy to apply but I just don’t find it really does anything. It is meant to leave a sun-kissed glow but it doesn’t really show up on my pale skin. I may use this instead of foundation on holiday or when I have a bit more colour to me, but at the moment, it won’t make my daily make-up bag.

IMG_6031

Quite an interesting Birchbox this month – I don’t love all the items but then again, one of the reasons I subscribe to this is because it makes me try things I wouldn’t normally buy and for every item I don’t like, I find a couple of real gems.

I’m signing off for a few days now as I am off to France for the long weekend on one of my best friend’s hen weekends – expect lots of wine and cheese photos if you follow me on Instagram (and if you don’t, then you should!) x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

3 responses »

  1. I loved this month’s box! I got mostly the same bits as you, except the Nuxe oil, that looks fab x

    https://justmylook.me/2016/04/13/birchbox-uk-april-2016-blooming-marvellous/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

