RSS Feed

Sunday Summary #17 and #18

Life

I was really grumpy and miserable last Sunday so didn’t feel like writing my weekly summary and, to be fair, it wasn’t the most exciting seven days so I thought I would bundle the last two weeks together into one post.

The main reason for said misery and grumpiness is that I finally took the plunge to sort out my bottom teeth and got braces. I’m talking full-on metal train tracks like most of us had when we were sixteen. I’ve spent the past week with an aching mouth, not being able to bite down or chew food properly, having my inner mouth cut and swollen and feeling incredibly self-conscious. It’s weird because although I chose to do this (and had braces before as a teenager), I had no idea I would care so much about how they looked. However, it seems to be completely in my head as hardly anyone at work even noticed I had them!  I’m not feeling quite confident enough to post a picture of them yet but maybe in a few months’ time…

I’ve been back at work for two weeks now and our holiday seems a distant memory although I have managed to get my holiday posts written and uploaded. We’ve also booked another break for August so have something in the diary to look forward to.

When I haven’t been moaning about how much my mouth hurts, in the evenings Ian and I have been enjoying the finales of the OJ Simpson trial and Girls, The Island (which got really dramatic last week!) and we also discovered Murder in Successville which had us laughing out loud. We also loved watching Liverpool progress to the semi-finals of the Europa League – I feel sorry for our neighbours who had to put up with us cheering whilst they were probably trying to get to sleep!

IMG_5934

I’m still loving podcasts and The Archers has got so good with the latest storyline being discussed on Woman’s Hour and in The Guardian.

I am still reading Before I Go to Sleep but seem to be making quite slow progress with it. I think I’m going to join a local book group soon so I want to finish it so that I can start on the group’s latest title.

Next weekend, I am off to France for one of my best friend’s hen weekends. We have an amazing villa booked so I am hoping for plenty of sunshine, cheese and wine!

Food

I love brunch-style food for any meal of the day and can’t get enough smoked salmon/ avocado/ egg combinations.

I also made some killer meatballs and spaghetti this week!

IMG_5967

This weekend, we headed to the new Meat Liquor in Bristol with my bestie Lu for a good catch-up. It was achingly try-hard hipster inside and although we really enjoyed our meal, it was a slight case of style over substance for me. We couldn’t resist the ‘camel toe’ cocktail, quite literally served in a camel’s toe!

Beauty

My new additions mean I have to start using these little toothbrushes – it makes me so self-conscious every time I eat that I have something in my teeth!

IMG_5917

I had some new nail decals arrive in the post so had a little play with them when I painted my nails last week. Admittedly, they only lasted a few days but looked very pretty!

IMG_5918

I am also on the look-out for the Nivea Men’s shaving balm which is being heralded as an amazing primer to apply before make-up but am finding it hard to track down – I even have Ian on the case!

Fashion

After having my braces fitted, I left the dentist and went on a little spending spree in Bath. I think I was trying to make myself feel better and after popping into Primark for tights, I left with a full bag which included this pretty shirt and a new fringed handbag, both of which I wore out this weekend.

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. alicelowes@btinternet.com

    Try anbesol gel for your mouth x

    Sent from my HTC

    Reply

Leave a Reply

