RSS Feed

Cozumel, Mexico

The final destination on our Caribbean cruise was the Mexican island of Cozumel, known for great beaches, scuba diving and Mayan ruins. It was a slightly overcast day when we were there so we made a last minute decision to go on a tour of the island, stopping off at a few different places.

First of all we went to ‘Discover Mexico’, a small museum that displayed Mexican art and crafts, mini replicas of historic monuments (having just studied the Aztecs with my class, I loved this!) and we also watched a Mayan flying group who did the whole performance with no safety ropes! This was interesting, if a little touristy.

Next, we went to the Mayan Cacao Company – anywhere with chocolate is going to win my vote! Here we tried some chocolate mole and tortillas, flavoured our own chocolate and had several other tasters.

We stopped off at the first church of the island, which was built next to some Mayan ruins. There was also a market there where I bought a cute guacamole serving bowl.

Then it was onto a tequila factory. We tried four types of organic tequila which tastes much better than the type I usually have as shots with salt and lemon (followed by horrendous hangovers!) This was good stuff although so overpriced so we decided to wait until we found a supermarket to buy ours.

We made a quick stop off at a beach to enjoy the view and I found several cute hermit crabs.

Before heading back to the ship, we decided to go for lunch as you can’t go to Mexico and not try some proper cuisine and a margarita! The restaurant we went to did not disappoint and I had the biggest margarita followed by freshly made guacamole and fish tacos.

We just had time to buy some hot sauce, tequila and mezcal before it was time to go back to our ship. Rather than feeling like we didn’t have enough time on this island, it has only whetted my appetite to come back and visit mainland Mexico properly!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

