RSS Feed

Grand Cayman

A couple more holiday posts before normal blogging service resumes! The first week back at school has been manic (mainly because I was in holiday-mode over half term so did very little from my to-do list) so we are having a chilled weekend together.

IMG_5536

After a day in Jamaica, we set sail and woke up, docked just off Grand Cayman, the largest of the Cayman Islands. The only thing I knew about this place was that it was Caribbean island with great beaches and a known tax haven and that pretty much sums up what we experienced during our visit.

We had decided not to book any excursions and just have a relaxing beach day and headed to the Seven Mile Beach, known for white sands and warm, clear waters. On our way, I couldn’t help but notice the higher standard of living than the other places we had visited. Instead of the usual tourist tat, the shops were selling diamonds, Rolex watches, designer handbags and there were lots of American chain restaurant dotted around. Our taxi driver was pointing out houses owned by billionaires along the beachfront too.

After a short drive, we arrived and spent a blissful day sunbathing, swimming and, when it got too hot, enjoying local beers and chicken wings at a beach bar.

If you are looking for an idyllic island holiday with lazy days spent at the beach then this is a great choice of destination.

 

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

