RSS Feed

Sunday Summary #15 and #16

Life

I wrote my last one of these weekly round-up posts the night before we flew to Havana for our Caribbean cruise. I am gradually writing up some posts on our holiday, but suffice to say we had an incredible time.

Whilst away, I read the fourth instalment of the Millennium series which revisited the world of Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomkvist. It didn’t quite live up to the previous trilogy  but was gripping in places. I have since started another thriller, Before I go to Sleep which has a unique concept that I am enjoying so far.IMG_5903

IMG_5411

Since being home, there has been a lot of catching up with friends and family, laundry, the gym and TV. We binge-watched our Sky Plus programmes this weekend, reacquainting ourselves with Girls, the OJ Simpson programme, The Island and also watched Jurassic World.

I am back at work tomorrow which fills me with equal parts of dread and excitement but it also means I am chained to my laptop writing reports today.

Food

I feel like I have eaten very well over the past week! The food on board the ship was exceptional and we also had amazing jerk chicken and shrimp tacos in Jamaica followed by fish tacos and Margaritas in Mexico.

I have since tried to recreate some of these dishes at home but sadly could not provide the sunshine too!

Beauty

My recent lash lift is still going strong and it was lovely to not have to worry about wearing mascara everyday on holiday. I would definitely have this treatment again.

Whilst away in the Caribbean, I had the urge to wear a tropical-inspired orange lip. This lip crayon in Tangerine Dream from Stila was perfect and has really good staying power.

IMG_5910

Finally, I took away several mini products from REN. All were lovely on my parched sun-kissed skin, especially the face cream which I would like to purchase in full size.

IMG_5909

Fashion

Being blonde and pale-skinned, I burn really easily therefore I am all about hats when in the sun. I found this straw trilby on ASOS and wore it to death on holiday.

IMG_5865

Ian and I have a silly amount of Ray-Ban sunglasses (my personal favourites are my Wayfarers, Clubmasters and Erikas) but they are the best. They look cool and mine have lasted for years.

IMG_5858

Although I tend to live in dresses, I wore my playsuit several times on holiday and it has made me want to buy more. They are so comfortable and I love ones with cool prints on…I couldn’t find a single photo of me wearing mine though!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

