RSS Feed

Jamaica

After leaving Havana we had a day at sea. This was basically spent drinking pina coladas, reading and sunning ourselves on deck with the occasional trip to the pizza bar for a freshly made slice of margarita…tough life.

We sailed into Montego Bay Jamaica the next day, as the mist was just lifting from the hills and I was finishing my morning coffee on deck.

Being the semi-adventurous souls that we are, we had booked a ‘Canopy Adventure’ that is, zip-lining through the rainforest at great heights.

I was so scared of dropping my camera on the way round that I don’t really have many photos of just how hot we looked in all our safety gear but it was incredible zooming through the forest looking down at waterfalls and dense vegetation. The forest was so lush and colourful and our guide was great at pointing out different fruit trees and geckos all around us.

Afterwards, we deserved a couple of Red Stripes to cool down.

We had a couple of hours free until we had to be back on the ship so took a drive down to the ‘Hip Strip’ of Montego Bay itself. On the way, it was fascinating to drive through towns (we passed Gloucester, Anchovy and Montpelier) and see the brightly coloured houses and roadside bars. I would have loved to have more time here as the way of life just seemed so chilled out and relaxed.

The Hip Strip was pretty touristy and full of overpriced souvenir shops but we managed to find a bar that was showing the Liverpool match, ordered some more Red Stripes and a plate of shrimp tacos and jerk chicken overlooking the sea…not a bad way to spend the rest of the afternoon.

IMG_5512

We set off later that evening towards Grand Cayman.

 

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. This sounds like an amazing trip so far! My wife and I loved Jamaica when we went for our honeymoon. It’s so great out there 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

