RSS Feed

Latest Purchases #94 – A Kiko Haul

Hello half-term! I started mine with a lovely long lie-in, a quick gym trip (my first session in about three weeks…very sweaty!) and now I am just pottering about, researching where in Havana does the best mojito and getting ready to head out to Bristol later for burgers and a catch-up with friends.

A couple of weeks ago, I was in Bath to get my hair and brows done and I popped into Kiko. They had an amazing deal on where you could buy 5 items for £10(!) so I took full advantage of it. There were so many amazing new releases I could have spent a lot more but I stuck to these 5 items on this visit.

IMG_5260

First of all, I have to say I really like the sleek black packaging and I think it looks very high-end.

I picked up one of the Universal Fit Hydrating Foundations. I think I rushed my colour choice and picked up a shade that is slightly too dark for me at the moment but I’m hoping I’ll return from my holiday with a slight tan and the foundation should be fine then. Formula-wise, this is a really nice product with a light to medium coverage and for me, a nice everyday option.

IMG_5261

I also picked up this rather jazzy mascara in a deep turquoise (shade 03 from their Super Colour range). I usually stick to black but I absolutely love this shade. I’m not sure whether it’s because of my colouring but it makes my eyes look so blue and is a good formula too. It’s quite a dry mascara which makes me think it won’t last too long but definitely something different when you fancy switching things up a bit.

Three lip items next, all quite different. Annoyingly, their make-up items don’t have names, just numbers to identify the colours – my one grumble with this brand.

IMG_5267

I bought this Smooth Temptation lipstick in 04, a pigmented, creamy formula in a stick. It feels very moisturising on your lips and the stick means application is easy. I would describe this colour as a dusky rose-pink with a slight brown leaning and although it looks quite shimmery on my hand, this doesn’t translate to the lip.

From their Smart Lipstick range, I got the shade 924, a brown-leaning pinky nude. Again, this formula feels very creamy to apply but isn’t the most pigmented or long-wearing. However, I like the colour so don’t mind having to reapply this when wearing it.

Finally, a Smart Lip Pencil in the shade 707. This is a bright pinky-red colour and can be worn as a lip liner or to fill in the lips completely. Considering it is from the same Smart range of the lipstick, this stuff doesn’t budge! It has excellent staying-power and is very pigmented.

Five make-up items for £10 seems so reasonable and I am slowly trying more and more from Kiko and really liking their make-up. I am keen to try their skincare items next!

IMG_5273

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

3 responses »

  1. I recently bought the exact same product from the smart lipstick range. I agree it’s not long lasting, but I love that it’s more balm-like. I think it’s perfect for work! X

    Reply

Leave a Reply

