RSS Feed

Beauty Review – March Birchbox

Oh hello midweek blog. Yes, these seem to have become a thing of the past and it’s a combination of a lack of time and a little bit of blogger’s block. It’s not that I’m lacking inspiration to blog – quite the opposite! I have so many ideas whizzing around in my brain that I end up getting a bit overwhelmed and write nothing. I read a really refreshing blog post this week over on Hannah Gale’s blog which really struck a chord. In a nutshell, I am going to try and take a leaf out of her book and rather than worry about things being perfect (well as perfect as it gets when you take photos on your iPhone and can’t be bothered to edit your blog photos!), I am just going to write. It makes me happy to write blog posts and send a little piece of me out in to the wider world and I want to do this more regularly…imperfections and all!

Anyway, on that note…

I received my monthly Birchbox a few days ago. As I mentioned, Ian and I have both had really awful coughs and colds lately so it was lovely to receive something for a bit of a pamper.

IMG_5192

The theme this month is ‘Word Up’ with a wordsearch-covered box to encourage you to search for your ultimate beauty items. Yeah, I wasn’t convinced by this concept either. However, it’s a cool graphic design and the kids in my class go crazy for wordsearches!

Here was my first peek inside the box:

IMG_5193

First up, a pillow spray from This Works. I received the sleep plus formula and sadly it is very heavily lavender-scented which I just can’t stand. However, I will do almost anything for a good night’s sleep so do plan on trialling this for a couple of nights before I decide to give it away. I think this was a really lovely addition to the box and is something of a cult product.

IMG_5194

Next, a nourishing hair mask from Amika. I love a weekly hair mask and I think I’ll pack this one in my holiday travel bag to refresh my locks when we’re away.

IMG_5195

I got a small tube of Doux Me’s Comforting Face Mask and Exfoliator. This smells amazing and I like the idea of a two-in-one product like this.

IMG_5196

After launching LOC (Love of Colour) earlier this year, Birchbox have introduced a second range called ARROW with a more on-the-go, long-wearing approach. I received the BOOST Colour Enhancing Lip Balm and I really like it. It’s really moisturising on the lips and is designed so that the pH balance of your lips determines the colour. It gave my lips a faint rosy flush of colour and has a nice minty fragrance to it.

IMG_5197

My favourite product of the box next! This ModelCo brow gel is great stuff. It has a fab little applicator that makes it easy to apply and the colour match is good too. My eyebrows are rather sparse and blonde and I think these two photos show the difference this product makes to them. I will definitely repurchase this when it runs out.

IMG_5198IMG_5223IMG_5224

Finally, a full-sized Lanolips Intense Hand Balm. The packaging is beautiful and the product is a heavy duty hand cream. I love rose-scented items but this has more of a delicate, powdery scent to it. It has already made its way to my bedside table to use on my hands and feet before bed.

For me, March’s offering was great. I discovered my new favourite brow product and I think the range of items was really good too. I think next month’s box is designed by Rifle Paper Company so I’m sure it will be a beauty!

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Great post 🙂 I got a few different items in my box, I’d have loved the Lanolips hand balm!!x

    http://justmylook.me/2016/03/17/birchbox-uk-march-2016-word-up/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

