RSS Feed

Sunday Summary #9 and #10

Life

I had a jam-packed weekend which then turned into a jam-packed week so I am squishing together two Sunday Summaries to give you a little life update.

For Christmas, we bought my brother and his girlfriend tickets so that the four of us could go and watch Russell Kane live. I’ve seen him a few times before and he was just as good as I remembered.

We spent last weekend catching up with friends, having birthday pancakes and lunch at Wahaca, seeing Liverpool lose in the cup final whilst eating the best pizzas and dancing the night away watching 21 Pilots…all in all, a fab weekend!

This week has been a little bit more low key mainly because Ian has been struck down by a horrible flu-like virus and I have had a mountain of marking to get through.

I have binge-watched Grey’s Anatomy this week and am almost up-to-date. We also watched the documentary ‘Amy’ last night which was incredibly moving.

I’ve started reading The Memory of Love which was a slow starter but is picking up now I’m about a quarter of the way through.

IMG_5178

Food

Surprisingly, I’ve managed to keep up with the no-chocolate Lent although I am finding myself fantasising about what I am going to eat first when the ban ends…I’m thinking a big bar of Dairy Milk Whole Nut should hit the spot!

To fill the chocolate gap, I have been loving sweet & salty popcorn, hot cross buns and bakewell tarts this week but also tried something a bit healthy with a packet of ‘boodles’ (butternut squash noodles) which were quite tasty with some pesto mixed through them.

IMG_5170

With Ian being ill, I have been going down the comfort food route and made a huge shepherd’s pie (it could seriously last us all week!) and sticky toffee pudding.

Beauty

I have been treating my hair and scalp to a coconut oil hair mask a couple of times a week and I’m really starting to see the benefits.

IMG_5177

This blusher by Stila is becoming a firm favourite. It gives a flush of colour with the slightest hint of shimmer, which you can control depending  on how much you sweep your brush over the shimmery bows.

I love a good facial spritz and this one from This Works is so refreshing. It has a light rose-scent and is perfect to use morning and night.

IMG_5179

Fashion

Slipper Shoes – these two pairs are just cheap ones from Primark, but I love the style of them and they are so comfortable. Obviously, I am still pairing them with thick tights at the moment but I’m looking forward to braving a bare leg soon!

IMG_5182

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

