RSS Feed

Sunday Summary #8

Life

This week has not been a particularly exiting half term but I have been extremely productive. I managed to clear our 3rd bedroom and fill 7 bin bags to either take to the skip or charity shop. Here is a before and after…next up, the painting!

As I was clearing out years’ worth of paperwork, I found some gems such as letters from loved ones and this photo of my friend’s photography project back when we were 16!

IMG_5034

It wasn’t all work though. Ian surprised me with a night away at a hotel in Wells which was lovely. We spent an afternoon wandering around the cathedral and in coffee shops then enjoyed a 5-course taster menu.

I finished reading Vince and Joy last night and am undecided on which book to start reading tonight – I feel like something quite dark so maybe a thriller?

TV seems to be great at the moment! We watched the BAFTAs this week, the new series of Happy Valley and started watching Limitless and The People Vs OJ Simpson – all great series.

I’m trying to avoid the back-to-work blues with a very relaxed evening tonight and reminding myself that I have a jam-packed weekend with friends to look forward to next week.

Food

My foodie highlight this week has to be the taster menu we enjoyed. I will write about our stay more in another post but smoked salmon, pate, pork belly and treacle tart all featured!

IMG_5080

Being off work always gives me a little more time in the kitchen and I made some lamb with giant couscous, a sweet potato, chickpea and chorizo hash and a yummy banana and peanut butter chia pudding.

I also tried this soup for lunch and really enjoyed it!

IMG_5022

Beauty

Kind of beauty related…I had the xrays this week for my braces so now just need to decide if I’m going to go ahead with them or not.

Clearing out our spare room also saw me find about 9 unused bottles of nail varnish (!) so I couldn’t wait to try this Rimmel shade out.

IMG_5049

Fashion

Seeing as I’ve been sorting through boxes all week and getting covered in dust, I’ve spent most of my time in old tracksuits which are not that flattering.

It has been really cold again lately so when I have ventured out, I have worn my ASOS parka every time to stay warm and cosy.

IMG_5066

Finally, I have been loving this gold and marble ring from Next and think it is a really unusual accessory.

IMG_5051

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

