RSS Feed

Beauty Review – February Birchbox and Mini-Haul

This month’s Birchbox arrived in the coolest marble box – I really like that each month the designs are getting better and better!

IMG_4934

Inside was a nice variety of items, including the first make-up brush I’ve received from Birchbox.

IMG_4935

I received the Tapered Powder Brush from Spectrum, a brightly coloured brush with a long pink handle which I think is perfect for dusting highlighter along the cheekbones. I’m quite loyal to my Real Techniques brushes but this one feels so soft that I will definitely make an exception.

This Ayres Body Butter is beautifully packaged and I think it has quite a masculine look to it. Unfortunately, it is heavily lavender-scented which I’m just not a fan of so I will be passing this one on.

My favourite item this month was definitely the Frat Boy blusher from theBalm. I love the blushers from this brand and had actually decided to use my next lot of Birchbox points to buy this shade! The packaging is gorgeous and I find these blushers great to apply with really good staying power.

A tiny sample next of a moisturiser from BioNike. I hadn’t heard of this brand but this promises to firm, lift and plump the skin – just a shame the tube is so small.

Korres is another brand I really like and their products make quite a regular appearance in Birchboxes. I have only really used shower lotions and body creams so this is my first try of their skincare. I received the 3-in-1 Cleansing Emulsion to be used at night to remove make-up. I love these type of cleansers so will be trialling this soon.

IMG_4942

Birchbox now have their own in-house make-up brand called LOC (or Love of Colour) and I pre-ordered my eyeshadow stick in Perfect Cents, a warm copper shade. I have to say the packaging is a little cheap and flimsy and I’m not that impressed with the product either. It contains a lot of glitter and shimmer and although it blends nicely, it creases easily and doesn’t have the promised 11-hour longevity. I think I may use this as an eyeliner to give a little sparkle rather than across my lids.

Finally, as well as my monthly box, I had racked up enough points to add a few additional items to my order.

I bought a full-sized version of the Liz Earle Skin Tonic, a refreshing toner that I love to use after cleansing.

IMG_4948

I also repurchased a Laqa&Co Lip Lube (hate the name of that!) in the shade Menatour. I don’t own any other purple shades but the blue tones in this one really suit my skin tone and I have almost finished my other crayon.

IMG_4949

I was looking for something extra to take me over the free delivery cost so added a bag of white chia seeds to my basket. I would have bought these anyway at the supermarket and I had only tried the black seeds before so decided to give these white ones a try.

IMG_4951

Overall, a good box this month and I love the fact that my final three items were all freebies after storing up my Birchbox points! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

