RSS Feed

Sunday Summary #7

Life

Hello and Happy Valentine’s Day! Ian is working today but we did treat ourselves to an M&S meal deal to enjoy later on…that’s about as romantic as it gets around here!

IMG_4990

I am now on half term (yay!) and am a woman on a mission…we still have boxes that we never unpacked when we moved almost 4 years ago – shameful I know – so this week I am determined to either throw away, send to a charity shop or find a proper place for all manner of items.

This week we started watching the new X-Files and it was pretty good. I used to love the old series, although I was also really scared after certain episodes, so I’m hoping this new version is as good.

I am still enjoying Vince and Joy but am also looking for some titles to buy on my Kindle for our holiday next month. I can read a book a day when lying on a beach so am making a to-read list to buy before we go.

IMG_4933

I have been listening to Me First and The Gimme Gimmes a lot this week. They are formed from various punk band members and do the most amazing punk covers…my current favourite is their version of ‘Mandy’ by Barry Manilow.

The Serial podcasts have also been good this week as they update the Adnan Syed case from his latest hearing.

Finally, a little craft project for this week…Ian constructed this wooden stag’s head which I am hoping to spray copper – watch this space!

Food

One of my favourite days of the year this week: Pancake Day! I opted for various sweet toppings but I think my favourite was good old Golden Syrup.

After Pancake Day, I decided to have a go at giving up chocolate. I really haven’t missed it this week but we shall see whether I last the 40 days.

I did make a lovely beef stir-fry this week and a deliciously comforting cottage pie which is so big, I can see it lasting us for days!

IMG_4961

I also devoured this popcorn – not as good as Joe and Seph’s but tasty nonetheless.

IMG_4989

Beauty

I went for a bum, tum and thigh detox this week which was one of the most forceful massages I have ever had! Luckily, I booked a facial for straight afterwards too so I did leave feeling quite relaxed. Even though the actual massage wasn’t the most calming thing, the skin on my thighs definitely feels smoother and softer and since I am running a lot, I found it great for sorting out my aching muscles.

I had another dentist appointment this week about getting braces on my bottom teeth. All that’s left is some x-rays tomorrow then I have to make my mind up whether to go for them or not.

I tried another Clinique nail varnish this week – a muted nude-grey shade – and it lasted for almost a whole week.

IMG_4955

This Wild Rose Creamy Body Wash from Weleda smells amazing and is a lovely, rich, creamy formula. I’m not that fussy about shower gels but this is a good’un.

IMG_4991

Fashion

Since we started going to the gym several times a week, I realised just how much extra laundry this creates. The solution? Buy lots of cool and colourful sportswear! I got these jazzy Puma running trousers this week and they are a really good fit and decent quality.

IMG_4985

 

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

