RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – Laksa Mondays at Ping’s Pantry

Just before Christmas, I saw on Twitter that Ping Coombes (Masterchef winner) would be having a pop-up restaurant in Bath serving her signature laksa dish. I booked us some tickets and this week Ian and I turned up at the GPT Smokehouse ready for a Malaysian feast.

We’ve eaten at the GPT before and there was a nice atmosphere inside and a great selection of craft ales. We found a seat at one of the large benches (FYI Ian hates communal dining!) and waited for our laksas. And boy did we wait!

Usually, I’m not in a huge rush at a restaurant, enjoying a few courses of good food and conversation, but the service was very slow with the waiters looking rather flustered throughout the evening. Nevertheless, we ordered a few sides with our main and caught up with each other’s days.

Our sides arrived first on a chopping board with a lovely spicy sriracha – my latest obsession – dipping sauce. We had some Cucur Udang, which were prawn and chive fritters containing huge pieces of juicy prawns, some Lor Bak, pork spring rolls, and some pork belly bites, which were deliciously moreish. Whilst very tasty, each of these sides were £6 and I don’t think, looking back at the photo, that it really represents £18 worth of side dishes…or maybe that’s just me being greedy and wanting bigger portions!

IMG_4891

However, the star of the show was the laska, a steaming bowl of creamy, spicy broth filled with noodles, chicken, prawns and puffs of bean curd. This was just about as spicy as I could handle (it did make my nose run!) but packed with flavour. The broth was beautiful, with a delicate tinge of lemongrass throughout which kept things light. Again, neither of us felt full afterwards so I would have preferred slightly more of it.

IMG_4896

The upside of not being quite full meant that we had room for pudding! We ordered two to share, both featuring coconut which I love.

I had the coconut rice pudding which was rich and creamy, topped with grilled pineapple. Ian had a coconut affogato which combined cold-brew coffee and local coconut ice-cream. I loved these two flavours together and I think the coconut latte could really take off!

So, a slightly mixed evening overall – less than brilliant service and small portions but the food itself was absolutely delicious so I’m very glad we went. x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

