RSS Feed

Sunday Summary #4

Life

It has been a pretty standard week around these parts. My parents came to stay for a couple of nights which meant my Dad cooking for us – yum!

We’ve had a really nice weekend too. We headed into town on Saturday for lunch and the Liverpool match – and what a match it was!

Today, after a quick gym session, we went to the cinema to watch The Big Short which was such a thought-provoking film. It was done so well, with great cutaways to explain the trickier financial language used in the film, and it showed the crisis from several points of view.

Ian and I started watching Peaky Blinders this week on Netflix and I have to say I’m hooked, although very disappointed at the poor Brummie accents throughout!

I bought myself some pretty roses – and I was excited to see daffodils in the shops today too.

IMG_4809

I started a new book this week, The Never List, and I am loving it. With the release of the film ‘Room’, I can see this genre of literature becoming very popular. I enjoyed reading Room but The Never List is even more extreme, telling the story of a group of abducted girls and the years of torture they survived. A grizzly read, but fascinating nonetheless.

IMG_4806

Food

My Dad always asks me what I want him to cook and nine times out of ten I ask for a big tray of BBQ ribs! He did not disappoint, serving up plenty of ribs and rice to share.

Whilst things are still looking quite healthy, I could not resist these salted caramel and chocolate cookies Ian brought home.

IMG_4805

I also had a delicious macaroni cheese for lunch, served with garlic flatbread.

IMG_4816

Beauty

I wrote about a new YSL collection on the blog this week and I have enjoyed trying out the contents.

I tried out some new nail wraps which I am really disappointed with…ah well, you can’t love everything you try.

IMG_4841

I am on a 6-month nail varnish ban but I have bought a few beauty items this week that I am waiting to arrive. I managed to clock up over £20 of Birchbox points so picked a couple of things from the shop and have also ordered a box of Korean sheet masks which I cannot wait to try out.

Finally, I have been using this Body Shop nail varnish remover. This is one beauty product I have always just bought the cheapest bottle of in Superdrug or Boots but this one has almond oil in and feels so much more gentle and nourishing on the nails – I’m a convert.

IMG_4812

Fashion

It has been cold again this week so I have been loving layers! One of my favourite and most comfortable cardigans is this Aztec-print one which I have been pairing with skinny jeans.

IMG_4813

I accidently had a recent ASOS order sent to my parents’ house so when they came to stay, my Mum brought up this new dress. I love the print and it is a lovely light, flowing style that I have been wearing with tights and boots.

 

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

