RSS Feed

Sunday Summary #2

Life

It was the first week back at work after the Christmas holidays and I have made a concerted effort this week to be in bed early and to read a book – not my iPhone – before bed and I have to say it has resulted in not feeling quite as shattered as usual!  I’ve just started this book by Louis Theroux and, although I don’t usually read non-fiction, I am really enjoying it.

IMG_4697

I’ve managed to stick to a good routine at the gym this week and lost 3lbs which is a bonus…I’m still not loving it though!

We’ve managed to see my brother and his girlfriend twice this week, sharing the hosting and cooking duties – I love that we leave nearer to each other now.

On my way to work, I have been loving Lena Dunham’s new podcasts, ‘Women of the Hour’. If you enjoy funny, inspirational and feminist discussions then I urge you to download a couple of episodes.

TV-wise, we are still making our way through ‘Making a Murderer’ but also watched that episode of ‘Come Dine With Me’…if you have no idea what I’m talking about try and find the last few minutes online as it is the ultimate in hilarious/ cringe-worthy TV.

Ian and I went to the cinema this afternoon (with snacks!) to watch Tarantino’s latest offering, ‘The Hateful Eight’. I thought it was a classic, although longer than I was expecting plus there was an interval which felt very old-school! If you are a fan of his dialogue-heavy work then you will enjoy this.

IMG_4723

Food

To mark mine and Ian’s twelve year anniversary of being together, we treated ourselves to dinner at our local pub, The Muddy Duck. As always, it was absolutely delicious! I had an amazing salt cod and potato starter served with chorizo, an egg yolk and pork scratchings which was divine. Followed by pork belly and a sticky toffee pudding, it was a lovely mid-week celebration.

We also met for brunch at Bill’s in Bath on Saturday morning which was a great way to start the weekend…their veggie breakfast is my favourite thing to order.

Apart from these two treats, things have been looking pretty healthy around here with lots of greens, fresh fish and pulses going on.

Beauty

A strange one to start with but this weekend I had an orthodontist appointment to discuss my options for straightening my bottom teeth. It definitely gave me some food for thought but was pricier than I was expecting so I am trying to make my mind up whether to go for it or learn to live with my wonky teeth!

To help my face cope with the sudden drop in temperature, I have been using this Vichy serum. It was a Christmas present from my Mum and is a really lovely addition to my beauty routine.

IMG_4727

I also decided I needed a richer body moisturiser than I had been using so cracked open a new body butter from The Body Shop in the scent Vanille Doree which is a sweet yet warm vanilla.

IMG_4728

Fashion

With winter finally seeming to be here, I have been looking through my coat collection for some options to keep me warm. I completely forgot about this red pea coat I bought last year in the sales but have been wearing it non-stop.

IMG_4726

I also rocked this t-shirt (a Christmas present from Ian) to Pilates this week!

IMG_4695

 

Finally, another Christmas present (this time from Ian’s parents) that I have been wearing daily. I LOVE this rose gold Casio watch so much!

IMG_4730

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

