RSS Feed

My January Charity

This is my first in a year-long series of charity posts. I was in two minds about whether to write about these on my blog or just donate and keep it quiet. I really hope these posts don’t come across in a holier-than-thou manner! It’s not my intention at all to make myself look like a real do-gooder but to try and bring attention to what I feel are extremely worthy causes.

First up, a charity that is now quite close to home after a dear colleague of mine (and all-round brilliant lady) was faced with cervical cancer and fought it with humour and determination. I could try and put it into words but the lovely Julia kindly agreed to write a piece for me. If you are moved by these words, then you too can donate to Jo’s Cervical Cancer Trust here and if you want to read Julia’s brilliant blog and her story, then click here. But above all, if you do one thing after reading this, make sure your smear test is up to date.

Over to Julia…

I’m very pleased Hannah has picked Jo’s Trust to be her first charity for 2016! Especially as Cervical Cancer Prevention Week is in January too. 

jos

I came across Jo’s when I was given one of their information leaflets by a Macmillan nurse just after I was diagnosed with cervical cancer a week before Christmas 2013. It is a small, but growing, charity offering information, support and friendship to all women, their partners, family and friends affected by cervical cancer and cervical abnormalities. They do this through their website, online forum, posters, leaflets, helpline, ‘ask the expert’ service, local support groups and their annual ‘Let’s Meet’ events. The also take an active role in encouraging a greater uptake in cervical screening. Look out for the social media campaign #smearforsmear in January. 

smear

1 in 5 women do not attend their smear test when invited. I should know because I was one of them. If I had, it is likely that I would have avoided all the heartache and treatment I’ve had to endure due to my cancer being found at a precancerous, therefore far easily treated, stage. Unsurprisingly, I am passionate about women attending their smears, especially as in the 25-30 age group the number not attending rises to 1 in 4. 

9 women a day are diagnosed with cervical cancer and 3 will die. For the ones that survive most are left infertile by the treatment and it seriously affects sexual functioning. It is the largest cancer killer in women aged under 35. 

Please make it your number 1 resolution to make sure you, your sisters and your friends are up to date and fully aware of the risk factors of this horrible disease.  

My story can read at https://helloverajuice.wordpress.com/

And Jo’s can be found at http://www.jostrust.org.uk/

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

