RSS Feed

Restaurant Review – Burger and Lobster, Bath

Having not managed to eat at this chain of restaurants whilst in London, I was excited when I saw Bath would be getting its very own branch of Burger and Lobster. We actually visited this place within the first few weeks of it opening in the summer so blame my laziness for the lateness of my review! Luckily, there isn’t an ever-changing menu – as the name would suggest, you have the choice of a beef burger or lobster – so this post won’t be too outdated.

Tucked away in the Octagon on Milsom Street in the centre of Bath, this space has undergone an amazing transformation and upon walking into the restaurant, the first thing that strikes you is the huge bar underneath a stunning domed ceiling, with seating and lobster tanks surrounding it.

IMG_3991

Ian and I started with some cocktails and placed our order for a combo special of a burger and half a lobster each. We opted for our lobsters grilled with garlic butter and the burger cooked rare. It was £60 for this option, served with salad and fries and also included a pudding.

Whilst waiting for our food to arrive, we received a variety of instruments with which to tackle our lobsters and some bibs too. I can imagine some people may feel a little intimated by it all but I think cracking the claws open is all part of the fun!

IMG_3998

I dived in to the lobster first, the star of the dish. It was well-cooked and there was a good amount of meat. The grilling also gave it a delicious charred taste, even tastier when dipped in the accompanying buttery sauce. The burger was also really tasty with a charred outer crust and juicy inside, served in a lovely brioche bun.

IMG_3995

For pudding, we ordered a berry cheesecake and a Snickers chocolate mousse. Served in short, cardboard tubs, I didn’t think the presentation was in keeping with the rest of the meal but I ate them nonetheless!

IMG_3997

The cheesecake filling was lovely and creamy but there was not nearly enough base or berries (which were both served on top of the cheesecake filling and went everywhere!) The absolute standout item for me was the mousse; rich and decadent with some cheeky salted caramel hiding at the bottom – I would definitely order that again.

I really enjoyed our lunch here and look forward to returning. There is always the argument with these places offering such a minimalist menu that there won’t be anything new and exciting to try but I am a fan of the classics done well. I think you can either see Burger and Lobster’s menu as serving a really expensive burger or a bargain lobster dinner, both of which I would enjoy eating. If I went back, I would opt for the whole lobster or lobster roll and ensure I saved enough room for another Snickers pudding too!

 

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Looks super tasty! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

