RSS Feed

Well Hello 2016!

First of all, Happy New Year!

Whether you are a fan of going out or keeping it cosy and staying in, I hope you had a good one and welcomed in another year with your nearest and dearest.

Ian and I spent ours in London and will be staying up here for another few days for a theatre visit (my Christmas present to Ian!) and one of my best friend’s 30th birthday party.

I always write a blog post at the start of January, thinking about the year ahead. I don’t try to set any goals that are too unrealistic although there is a general theme of getting healthier and getting organised!

For 2016, I hope to:

Find a good work/life balance

I’m sure everyone struggles with this to some extent but I find I am a different person during half term and the summer holidays. I’m happier, more relaxed and eager to do a lot more. I love my job but it is hard to switch off so I need to work on finding a better balance this year.

Get fitter

A standard resolution and one that I started in November when Ian and I joined our local gym. Slowly but surely I am getting into a routine and whilst I don’t love going, I always feel glad I did afterwards…plus, there is free wifi so I can sit on the exercise bikes watching YouTube videos!

Read

More importantly, read before bed rather than scrolling through my phone to get a better night’s sleep. During the Christmas period, I rediscovered my love of reading and am hoping to keep it up and work my way through the pile of books sitting on my shelf.

Give more

I have decided that on my blog each month, I will choose a different charity to write about and then make a donation to. I think it’s easy to get caught up in buying the latest make-up and fashion trends but this money will make more of a difference and will help causes I care about.

Up my blog game

I have been blogging for almost 5 years now (!!!) and whilst I have no plans to make any sort of income from it, I do think I would like to challenge myself to take some better photos, learn to edit them properly and maybe, maybe try vlogging…watch this space!

Give blood

I am terrified of needles but have booked myself in to do this in March (enough time to psyche myself up for it!) and have heard there is a good biscuit selection to enjoy afterwards?!

I think that’s probably enough to be getting on with for now – have you made any New Year’s resolutions for 2016? x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Cool blog 🙂 Good luck with your resolutions!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

