RSS Feed

Book Corner – My Latest Reads

I’m really trying to read more of a variety of books now and recently I’ve got through a horror, a classic and a reflective, more emotional life story.

First up is one that I am so ashamed to admit that I had not read by the age of 30 – To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I didn’t study it at school but I’m still not too sure how this one managed to pass me by. I bought this on my Kindle and sat and read over half of it one afternoon while lying on the grass in Central Park before finishing it on the plane home. It’s always tricky reading a critically acclaimed book as you have a feeling that you are meant to love it which can jade your view.

IMG_2517

I understand the history behind the book and although it wasn’t gripping, I did find it intriguing. I loved the characters although I remember saying to Ian at one point that I was about two-thirds through the book and nothing had really happened. The plot isn’t its strong point but the court case and event at the end of the book really brought the whole thing together and made me glad I finally ticked this one off my to-read list.

Next, a really trashy read that I managed to finish within two days – I just couldn’t put it down! The sequel to Eeny Meeny, Pop Goes the Weasel is the second instalment in the Helen Grace series and I think I am hooked. Gripping and gruesome, this book follows a fascinating lead character on the hunt for a serial killer in the unprincipled world of prostitution. I don’t think I could read this type of book all the time but every now and then, I do enjoy a good page-turner.

IMG_3479

Finally, I picked up This Book Will Save Your Life by A.M Homes at a summer fete this year when I was on a sugar-free diet. The story revolves around a man who lives a completely controlled, extremely healthy lifestyle until a series of strange events sees his life begin to unravel but almost for the better. This was a strange book which moved from the deadpan and mundane to the unrealistic and extreme very quickly. There is not a strong plot; the chapters seem to move from event to event and the protagonist is someone you pity rather than like. One thing I found really odd was that this book is written entirely in the present tense. I couldnt work out why it felt strange to read until I was about halfway through but when I realised this, I found it very hard to really get into. I have to say I wouldn’t recommend this one although I’m glad it was something different to what I would usually pick.

IMG_3599

I’ve got so many books lined up for the next few months that I can see myself posting more book reviews soon! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

