RSS Feed

Avoiding the Back-To-Work Blues

I’m sure at some point we have all felt the Sunday-night blues, especially after a really fun weekend with friends. Well, multiply that by about 20 and that is how a lot of teachers feel after the summer holidays…the struggle is real people!

Now, I should begin by saying that I absolutely love my job and the people I work with but I also love my time off so I spent this week feeling a weird mixture of excitement, dread and anticipation. After four days back in work, two with my new class, I can safely say that I am back in the swing of things but it made me think about what I do to avoid this feeling. I often joke with my friends about having the Sunday-night blues, so here are a few tips that work for me:

Food

Obviously, food would be mentioned! I like to spend Sundays getting myself ready for the week ahead. I usually go shopping, cook a big, tasty one-pot dish that will keep us going for a few nights, make up my breakfast for the next day (overnight oats is a fave) and a salad for lunch. It just means that I don’t have to rush around the next morning or worry about what we’re having for dinner. I made a chili con carne this week and we had it one night with rice, the next night as burritos and the final night as quesadillas.

IMG_1176

Exercise

Not everyone’s idea of fun or relaxing but there is something to be said for releasing those endorphins. A long walk (with a stop off at your local pub or coffee shop!), a run, a session at the gym or some at-home yoga or Pilates can work wonders for your mood.

IMG_1198

Pamper

I like to spend a good chunk of Sunday night treating myself to a bit of a pamper session. This can include a long bubble bath, face mask, hair mask, manicure, pedicure or a fake tanning session. Dedicate a bit of time to yourself to ensure you start the week feeling good.

IMG_1295 IMG_1157 IMG_1154

Sleep

A good night’s sleep is going to make everything seem a bit better on Monday morning. There’s nothing better than freshly-washed sheets for me and a comfy pair of pjs. Try to turn off your phone/ laptop and read before bed to really switch off.

bed4

Diary Dates

Ensure you have something in the diary to look forward to if you feel a bit blue on a Sunday night. It could be a mid-week dinner date with your friend, a spa day, a cinema trip or a weekend away, but having a fun event on the horizon can be really motivating.

IMG_1253

Get Organised

Sometimes, I find that I worry because I think I have forgotten to do something. A simple to-do list, either on your phone or on some beautiful Paperchase stationary, does the trick for me. Even if my list is huge, having it all written down means I can prioritise and feel happy there isn’t a really important task I have missed.

IMG_2087

I hope that this post is useful as I’m sure I’m not alone in feeling this way from time to time. x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Such a brilliant post! I always suffer Sunday night blues so can really relate to you.
    The food you cooked looks so good too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

