RSS Feed

Travel Guide: New York

Another new feature I thought I would add to the blog following my recent travels was a little series of ‘Travel Guides’. I tend to write a really long, picture-heavy post after I have visited a new place and I thought these mini guides could be a quick read with my highlights including where to eat, what to do and where to stay.

IMG_2228

First up, New York, one of the most vibrant, exciting and fun places to visit. No matter what your interests, there is a never-ending amount of things to do including walking tours, sports, art galleries, shopping, sight-seeing and an amazing variety of places to eat. I have only been to this city twice so this is by no means an exhaustive list but just a few recommendations.

IMG_2300

EAT

Argo Tea

Dotted around the city, these tea shops offer delicious beverages with several free tasters in store!

IMG_2441

South Street Seaport

A very cool district full of great bars and restaurants. We happened upon the Smorgasburg food market when we were there and had some amazing lobster rolls and local beers.

IMG_2295IMG_2303

Tick Tock Diner

Standard, American diner serving great pancakes and other breakfast items.

IMG_2321 IMG_2326

Gansevoort Market

A little foodie mecca with some amazing choices for lunch – it is a perfect stop once you have walked The High Line.

IMG_2384 IMG_2387

Ellen’s Stardust Diner

Good for breakfast with singing Broadway-trained waiters – a really fun start to the day!

Iguana New York

This Mexican restaurant was next door to our hotel and did the best margaritas.

IMG_2471 IMG_2473

Grand Central Station

Not only is the station itself a must-see in my opinion, but there is a great little food court on the lower level which includes Shake Shack, Magnolia Bakery and a lovely soup bar.

IMG_2486

Katz’s Deli

A New York institution, endure the queues as the pastrami and beef brisket sandwiches are worth it!

IMG_2502 IMG_2505

DO

Visit Central Park

It’s huge so you can make several visits during your stay and see a different area each time. We went running here in the mornings, strolled in the afternoons and even came for a picnic but there are also outdoor concerts, play areas, a boating lake, sculptures and an outdoor swimming pool in the summer…a beautiful oasis amongst the skyscrapers.

IMG_2232IMG_2189IMG_2190IMG_2195IMG_2218IMG_2514IMG_2513

See a Broadway Show

There is a booth in Times Square where you can get discounted tickets for shows the same day and we took advantage of this to go and watch ‘The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time’ for my 30th birthday. Times Square at night is a sight to behold too.

IMG_2476 IMG_2477

Buy a CityPASS

If you plan on doing several of the major tourist attractions then it is worth looking into this ticket booklet to save some cash. My Mum bought me mine for a birthday present and we ended up visiting the Empire State Building (twice!), the Natural History Museum, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim, the 9/11 Memorial Museum and a ferry tour of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, all of which I would recommend.

IMG_2301IMG_2273IMG_2293IMG_2309IMG_2355IMG_2330IMG_2452IMG_2459IMG_2499IMG_2490

Walk The High Line

Once an abandoned railway track, this elevated walkway takes you through wild gardens, art installations and food vendors with great views of the local neighbourhoods.

IMG_2367 IMG_2366 IMG_2365 IMG_2379 IMG_2383

Go Kayaking on the Hudson River

The Manhattan Community Boathouse offers free half hour kayaking (which is about how long my arms could take!) in a couple of locations. We went at sunset and it was such a fun thing to do!

IMG_2405 IMG_2403 IMG_2402

STAY

If you want to be near to Central Park and the buzz of Broadway and Times Square, then I would recommend staying at The Ameritania. The staff are incredibly helpful if you need directions or a recommendation, the rooms are clean and modern and there is  a Starbucks over the road for chai tea and free wifi!

IMG_2180 IMG_2182 IMG_2318

TIPS

Buy a MetroCard for getting around the city. We bought a 7-day card for around $30 and definitely got our money’s worth using it several times a day. The carriages are also air-conditioned which is a godsend in the summer!

IMG_2238 IMG_2320

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

One response »

  1. Pingback: October Favourites & Catch Up | hollypyt

Leave a Reply

