RSS Feed

Latest Purchases #87 – Huge US Clothing Haul

So I think it was fairly safe to assume that I would be returning from America with a much heavier case than I left with! I saved my pennies for months before I went so although this is a lot of stuff, I had been pretty restrained over the past few months and I cannot see myself buying many clothes for a little while. I love reading blog posts about clothing hauls so thought I would take a quick snap of my goodies before I packed them away in my (now heaving) wardrobe.

I bought them from lots of different places but decided to roughly group them by clothing type…first up, dresses!

I bought this pretty dress with yellow roses on from Forever 21 in Times Square whilst Ian was queuing for theatre tickets. It is quite short so I would definitely need to wear tights or leggings underneath but I think it is a perfect autumnal dress and I love the sheer long sleeves on it.

IMG_3194 IMG_3195 IMG_3196

Also from Forever 21, is this grey marl tunic. Worn with leggings, this is my ultimate Sunday outfit as it is soft and cosy but also looks great with a statement necklace if I do venture out.

IMG_3197 IMG_3198

I think I must have a thing about long sleeved dresses with sheer sleeves as I picked up another one from H&M. This is navy with a swallow print and will be good for work. My mum got married in a navy swallow print dress so I think of her when I wear it!

IMG_3202 IMG_3203

This dress was one of my pricier purchases but also one of those that looks so much better on than it does on the hanger. It is an H&M striped shirt dress with gold details and is just such a flattering cut. I love all the detailing on it, like the folded sleeves and gold tie-pulls and I feel like a woman who has her shit figured out when I wear it!

IMG_3204 IMG_3205 IMG_3206 IMG_3207 IMG_3208

A more summery dress now from a shop called Loft…stripes and lace, what more you could you want?!

IMG_3210 IMG_3211

Next, onto tops and my best bargain. This shirt from Forever 21 had a label on it for about $30 but rang up as $3 when I took it to the till! I love the geometric pattern on it and it looks great with jeans and boots.

IMG_3199 IMG_3200

A nice Breton-style top from Old Navy.

IMG_3216

A New York-inspired t-shirt from Aeropostale. I love the semi-distressed material and the images in silver foil…a little reminder of our trip to the Big Apple!

IMG_3217 IMG_3218

Similarly, a cityscape t-shirt from Aeropostale in the same soft, sheer material.

IMG_3226

A slightly cropped red jersey top from Aeropostale. I picked this up on a bit of a whim but like that it is made from thicker material so I can wear it as it gets colder.

IMG_3220

Is it wrong to buy a t-shirt because you like the back more than the front? I don’t know, but I love the plaited neon of this top so much and it is made of a really soft, sheer material.

IMG_3221 IMG_3222

Another purchase from Loft, I bought this pineapple t-shirt as I just thought it looked cool!

IMG_3223 IMG_3224

As it was our 2nd wedding anniversary when we were in New York and it is tradition to buy gifts made from cotton, we bought each other an I Love NY t-shirt….naff or romantic?! Anyway, I plan on wearing this for working out and will have to co-ordinate with Ian to make sure we aren’t twinning!

IMG_3225

I bought this long t-shirt from Aeropostale (yeah, went a little crazy in that shop!) and I really like the silver geometric pattern on it. It hangs really nicely and looks ace with leggings or skinny jeans.

IMG_3227 IMG_3228 IMG_3229

A little random at-the-till purchase now in the form of this woven clutch/ make-up bag from H&M.

IMG_3209

Onto some shorts now, something I never used to wear but I seem to have found a style that suits my short legs! These black and white geometric print shorts are from H&M and I love them. They kept me cool on holiday and looked great with a loose black t-shirt and sandals. I’m hoping we get a few more warm weekends this summer so I can wear them again.

IMG_3201

Feeling emboldened by my H&M purchase, I also picked up a floral pair of shorts from Aeropostale which actually look quite like a skirt when they’re on.

IMG_3212

Let’s talk skirts next. As you may know, I am slightly obsessed with anchors and I just love this nautical navy skirt from Aeropostale! I’ve worn it with a plain white tee tucked in and it feels very ‘me’.

IMG_3213

Also from Aeropostale is this mint green lace skirt which is another one I am hoping I can wear again before the sun disappears this summer.

IMG_3215

Buying a whole new load of clothes always gives me a kick up the arse to have a good clear-out, mainly so I can fit everything in and also to get rid of the stuff I haven’t worn in a while. I’m really pleased with my US haul. It’s hard on holiday not to be lulled into buying really summery gear but I think I have a good mix of work and weekend wear and I luckily didn’t go over our suitcase weight allowance! x

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

2 responses »

  1. Love these picks, you have good taste in prints 👌🏻
    Christy
    StyleRarebit.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

