RSS Feed

Book Corner – Latest Reads

I feel like I have read some gems in the past few weeks so thought I would share my opinions with you.

First up, a real page-turner: Eeny Meeny by M. J. Arlidge. This is the film equivalent of a really jumpy horror film (which I also love!). It has very short chapters, a pacy writing style and that habit of leaving the reader on a real cliff-hanger. The actual storyline is gripping and chilling and I have passed this book around several colleagues who all enjoyed it too. It isn’t the most high-brow read but I liked the complicated lead charater, DI Helen Grace, and have bought the second book ‘Pop Goes the Weasel’. I predict there will be a screen adaptation of this series soon!

IMG_1450

Next, one that I’m pretty sure that most of you have read: The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. I found this really interesting and wanted to see if the hype around it was justified. I loved the main protagonist Rachel and thought she was an interesting character with all of her flaws. I also liked that each chapter was from a different person’s point of view although I did have to keep flicking back to check the dates that are at the start of each chapter which was a little annoying. I felt the ending was quite rushed and a bit predictable but did enjoy the book. I don’t think it was as good as Gone Girl but a decent thriller nonetheless.

book

Finally, a book I whizzed through on the plane to New York: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? By Mindy Kaling. I only knew her as Kelly from The American Office and this book is part memoir and part funny lists. I enjoyed reading about how she got to where she is now and didn’t realise she was a writer, director and producer too. It is written in a very chatty style and I couldn’t help but feel it was aimed at a younger audience (I am now in my thirties! Ha) There is not much depth to the book, despite it being marketed with the Lena Dunham, Tina Fey, Amy Poehler-type releases but it was a fun, light-hearted read with some interesting insights into her world.

IMG_3294

About hannahhotcakes

My name is Hannah. I live near Bath in a lovely village in the Cotswolds with my husband Ian, the love of my life for the past 10 years, in our dream cottage. I have landed my dream job as a primary school teacher and I can’t think of anything else I would rather be doing. I am a self-confessed foodie and I love to cook, bake, and eat out as much as possible. Here are some things I love: My friends and family, travelling, fresh flowers, good books, having breakfast on my balcony, horror films, Christmas, tea, Las Vegas, lie-ins, red wine, Liverpool FC, music, sausage dogs, Spain, rare steak, fashion, cheese, American TV series and camping. And here are my pet hates: People dressed as animals, whistling, being rushed, being made to wait, girls who act stupid to impress a man, spiders, sunburn and rocket (it comes with EVERYTHING!)

Leave a Reply

